SUMMER ADVENTURES - episode 3 - At the late night concert

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Late last night, approximately around midnight, I took the flashlight, camera and a book ( a Comic book, more precisely, 3 Dylan Dog episodes in the hardback edition from a local public library) ...
IMG_3719 krop malo.jpg
... and I went into the woods, directed to the sound of a croaking chorus that led me to the small pond that I often visit during the day.
3732malo.jpg
I was curious to see how these mysterious night musicians look, what kind of frogs these frogs are.
GATALINKA 1.jpg
When I came close with the flashlight the choir stopped the song abruptly. I expected that, and I have considered the possibility of total failure, of not being able to see the frogs ... but I sat myself down in the mud, took a comic book and started to read.
3668.jpg
After an hour or a little less than that ... the singing began again ... and it was very close to me ...
3695.jpg
I put the book back in the bag and took the camera out ... I had some tiny, vague hope that I will maybe be able to take some pictures, but really didn't believe in that scenario. I thought that the frogs will never let me come close enough with my camera with zoom issues ( that means without the possibility of zooming, that part of the electronic system is broken and very dysfunctional) Just to see the frogs was good enough in my mind.
IMG_3712malo.jpg
I took a good look with the flashlight all around me ... and many beautiful tree frogs ( Hyla arborea ) were on the shrubs and tall grass stems very near. And they were singing, the lovely golden throats with little balloons were very visible, they got used to the flashlight and continued their song.
3673malo.jpg
One little frog, a bit darker shade of green than the others, came through the mud very near to my feet and I took this shot. That encouraged me to make more photographs. It was a great experience, the frogs got used to my presence and continued to sing even with me and the camera very close.
GATALINKA 3.jpg
I was photographing for half an hour or so ... with the flashlight in one hand and the camera in the other ...
3663_2.jpg
... took also a picture of this water snake ( Natrix natrix) while there.
3649-3.jpg
It was a night filled with a magic sensation of being really close to the mysterious nightlife in the woods, It was some kind of spiritual thing... or almost :D
3729.jpg
And that's it ... for today ...
IMG_3719 malo.jpg
... have a good day ... or night ... wherever on the planet you are ...

( As always in these posts on Steemit, all the photographs are my work )

Sort:  

You might make @alexs1320 very happy if you use the yu-stem tag :P

wonderful photos as always

:D I'll check now what is this tag, I'm pretty new here, a lot of undiscovered things on Steemit.

That tag is a bit dead at the moment. But feel free to have a look around at all the posts from the past :o)

Cool :) tag, and my native language, I lived in Yugoslavia as a kid so Serbo - Croatian is my native language not only Croatian ... but I found only one post :D... I will put that tag in the next Summer adventures post.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Awesome shots!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :)

I have a tree frog as a pet sometimes it crokes like in these photos. Did you put the camera on burst shot?

Posted using Partiko Android

Single shot ... this camera that I have takes long to process after the burst shot ... sometimes I use burst shot when I have GIF in mind ...but not often, don't like the waiting period after the shot



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider setting @steemstem as a beneficiary to your post to get a stronger support.

Please consider using the steemstem.io app to get a stronger support.

Seriously? You don't have a zoom? I was already in awe of your skills, but now I'm just speechless! Beautiful frog photos! I'm glad they let you take pictures of them!

No zoom :) I must convince every single insect, frog or spider to let me come close ... it takes time, it takes a lot of waiting and crawling, sometimes is very frustrating ... but when it works it's a great experience... and the birds are absolutely out of reach :) not a single bird photo in last two years.

magic, really magic. "night filled with a magic sensation of being really close to the mysterious nightlife in the woods, It was some kind of spiritual thing".

yes, so well said. I cant even finger to a single fave pic, all of them are so so so cool. (except the snake ones. is it poisonous?)

this one is not necessarily 'the best', but so cool!

:) the snake is not dangerous, only when is caught release a bad and heavy smell that can stay on your hands for days, that's her only defense tactic, almost never tries to bite, which is a good decision with no poison and no particularly strong teeth.

HolyMoly! It's amazing that you got these photos without a zoom! I hear frogs at night down along my creek and when I sleep with the window open the sounds of their singing and of the water gurgling along sing me to sleep. I have never seen one and now I wonder if they look like this. Fantastic photos!

Thank you :) It's great to fall asleep with those kinds of natural sounds.

Beautiful with so beautiful light ans colours!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81