SPRINGTIME ADVENTURES , episode 20 - Under the old pines

in #photography5 years ago

These days I often go to a small forest made of tall, large, mostly curved and very old pine trees. I didn't make these photographs in one day like I usually do for these series. This is a compilation, kind of '' Best of '' or ''Greatest hits'' from the place under the pines.
DSC04262dd.jpg
And I think, a good starting point could be this lovely snake, Zamenis longissimus, called also Aesculapian snake, pretty cool name for a snake, I think, sounds very important. Here is hanging from a branch.
DSC06283.JPG
And some of these old trees are very twisted and curved so their branches often look like fat, oversized snakes.
This spring is raining a lot and in this humidity, on the forest floor, in lush vegetation with many types of shrubs, I found some edible mushrooms Macrolepiota procera out of season for this area, usually is to warm and dry for them in spring and you can find them only in autumn.
P1940229.JPG
They were like this when I first found them. I didn't take them that day. I came the next morning and their umbrella was large and ready for a good meal.
P1940656.JPG
Some black beetle was passing through ...
P1940671.JPG
... continued to the border and then let herself fall in the grass below.
P1940649.JPG
There were also this beautiful red, but a stinky fungus, that uses this smell to attract flies
DSC06476.JPG
There are usually more species of fly around this fungus
DSC06471.JPG
They help spread the spores
DSC06449.JPG
It's a beautiful fungus, looks like something from the coral reef
DSC06440.JPG
On the green shrubs meter, meter a half high, you can find many creatures.
P1940254.JPG
Some are well camouflaged, like these young crickets
P1940301.JPG
And some are very visible
P1940713malo.jpg
Like this small hairy spider
P1940716malo.jpg
That looks a bit like a ghost of the deceased spider... it's so pale and partially translucent
P1940709.JPG
These beetles are very common here
P1940690.JPG
You can always find one or two of them when visiting this place
P1940698.JPG
And it's a cool beetle. Pretty photogenic.
P1940684.JPG
Flowers are very rare here in the shade of the big trees. And when you find some, usually are small and far from spectacular ones on the meadows.
P1940648.JPG
There is one plant down here ...
P1940735malo.jpg
... pretty large and tall for that type of plant ...
P1940739.JPG
... and on that plant, little pools of water are formed after the rain...
P1940260.JPG
I always find some drowned fly in this water
P1940290.JPG
Different species of flies
P1940271.JPG
But always flies
P1940265.JPG
Never other insects ... but maybe you had enough of this a bit dark and shady forest floor ... maybe it's time for a short look at the treetops and a clear blue sky
P1940295.JPG
and a few words about the wild figs
P1950389.JPG
that can be found in some places under the pines
P1950391.JPG
They are usually intertwined with other trees and shrubs
P1950393.JPG
You can find a lot of asparagus here
P1950387.JPG
And often some creatures on them
P1950570.JPG
Yep ... always some action ...
P1950572.JPG
And now, back to the spiders ...
P1940765.JPG
This one is very common on meadows and there can be found in big numbers. Here you can see him occasionally but
is a relatively rare find. Here is posing with the cocoon.
P1940730.JPG
This bug with a good camouflage is very typical for these woods
P1940732.JPG
And so is this lovely little fly
P1940733.JPG
Manny broken branches on the floor are completely covered with ivy
P1950398.JPG
yep
P1950399.JPG
And there are many snails on the humid ground covered with moss
P1940742malo.jpg
And now we are near the end ...
P1940760.JPG
... a few pictures of cricket nymphae ...
P1940751.JPG
... a closing snake shot ...
DSC04249.JPG

And that's it for today ... hope you like this ecosystem ... or at least find it interesting ... have a good day ... or night ... wherever on the planet you are ...

( As always on these posts on Steemit, all the photographs are my work. )

P1940238.JPG

yep :)

P1940251.JPG
... hehehe ... some bonus crickets :D

... and now ... that's really all for today...

Sort:  

WOW!! Amazing photography! I can imagine that it took you more days to take these photos. You would have been very lucky if you've seen all this in one day :)

Where do you live? I have never heard of wild figs. My father in law has a tree at home in The Netherlands but I didn't know there were wild ones too. And asparagus in forest? I would love that here! Free shopping! :)

I love all your photos. You have a great eye for detail and you're very good with using available light...

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on very well deserved curie vote!

Hello :) Thank you for the compliment, glad you like pictures from this woods, I'm in Croatia, Istra Peninsula, northern Adriatic. Asparagus and some varieties of figs are self-seeding plants here, part of the wild flora in these Mediterranean forests, there is a lot of laurel plants in the wilderness too. :) A lot of edible stuff with good aroma. :D yes, A lot of free seasonal shopping.

Lucky you! I would love to live in a country where I can make my own forest salad :) Do people go to forest and collect some food or is it simply left there? I know that there are many edible plants that people don't know about and all of it is being left in the forest. I just hope that animals eat it and it don't go bad :)

Very few people collect those wild things :) so there is always a lot of that in the forests...even the asparagus, that is collected much more than the other plants, is easy to find nonetheless, because the asparagus sprout grows abundantly

If I would live there I would make sure that I would collect all the asparagus :D

:D I'm trying hard ... but always something remains ... and then the next day new sprouts :) It's hard to keep pace with the plant, almost some sort of Sisyphus work


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you :) Great news!

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi borjan,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you! This is great news :) now I really have a great day.

aaaaaaAAAAAAAaaa!!!!!!! @borjan, you are heaven-sent to me ))))) do you know how long I dreamed to see that smelly fungus? you are the 1st person who I know, who have seen it. mmm, may I invite you to the fun challenge we have of friday? name is #fungifriday
i'd be quite happy to see a separate post with these beautiful shromms. sorry if I ask too much!

:D Thanks for the invite. I'll join the challenge tomorrow.

That snake was friendly!

Yes :) it's a friendly species, and no venom involved

Wow wow wow, look at the exotic pictures here, I love the mushroom shot the most, I have never seen mushrooms that big. Just the button mushrooms in super market.

Love the snake pic too.
thanks for sharing your amaxing picture and congrats on that curie :)

Thank you :) glad you like these pics from the woods.

Those were very nice pictures, @borjan. I am quite astonished on how you brought out the beauty of the plants and animals. Amazing. You have a talent in choosing the right angle and lighting. Quite a skill in photography. Thanks for this wonderful share. God bless you!

Thank you. I'm glad you find these photographs interesting.

Hello @borjan! You certainly did a great job picking the best of the best, I must admit that. Apart from the snake (the photo is great but I have snakes so much!) the rest is fantastic. The second photo with the curved tree is another proof that nature is the best artist, no one can deny that.
Excellent macros, especially the mushrooms. Well done!

Thank you. Glad you like this photo story ... I understand about the snakes :)

Yuyks, 🐍I believe I'm not the only one who doesn't like them 😀

Seriously good photographs and the greatest hits. Was talking about wild figs yesterday and how I love dried figs. The forest is full of life and timings are crucial to capturing everything going on.

Thank you. Glad you like these pictures and the atmosphere of this forest. I like the dried figs a lot, and figs, in general, are among my favorite fruits. I have 5 trees in the garden and do some fig marmalade, marmalade made of figs is a great thing for those who like their sweet strong and with an intense aroma.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60