Photo of a small church (HDR image experiment)

in #photography8 years ago

Today I want to share with you a picture of a small church that I made at sunset in little village nearby my town.

Church photo

-PRAVKA-2212d0.md.jpg

I have published some sunset pictures from this place and same day here.

When I took the picture below, the church was right behind my back.


What is the better way to do HDR

I've always liked to see the HDR image. And I want to learn to do high-quality HDR photos, too.

Therefore, taking shots of this church I made three shots in the bracketing mode. All shots were taken without a tripod.

From various sources, I learned that you can create HDR different ways:

  • make 3 images and stitch them
  • make a picture in the HDR style from an ordinary photos using the post-processing (ideally need to have a photo in RAW format)

As I found out, there are many programs that can be used to create the HDR.
Including this Lightroom 6 can make it. In addition, it can be done with HDR Efex Pro plug-in from the Google Nik Collection.

With HDR Efex Pro or Color Efex Pro (Google Nik Collection) you can also make the picture in HDR style from one photo.

I decided to find out which method can give better results.

Therefore, I did 6 different images of church using my existing tools.

  1. HDR image made from 3 photos with postprocessing in Lightroom
  2. Same HDR image made from 3 photos with postprocessing in Lightroom + Sharpener pro 3: Output Sharpener
  3. Same HDR image made from 3 photos with postprocessing in Lightroom + Color Efex Pro
  4. Original photo with processing with postprocessing in Lightroom
  5. Original photo with processing with postprocessing in Lightroom + Color Efex Pro
  6. Original photo with processing with postprocessing in Lightroom + HDR Efex Pro

Here are all 6 versions in small size for ease of comparison. All images are clickable.



DSC_9707-HDR0e640.md.jpg
#1 HDR image + Lightroom
DSC_970781a67.md.jpg
#4 Original photo + Lightroom

-PRAVKA-2212d0.md.jpg
#2 HDR image + Color Efex Pro
-PRAVKA-4972fc.md.jpg
#5 Original photo + Color Efex Pro

-PRAVKAa70e8.md.jpg
#3 HDR image + Sharpener Pro 3
DSC_9707_HDR5bdcd.md.jpg
#6 Original photo + HDR Efex Pro

Most of all I like version # 2.

Which version is better in your opinion?

I will be glad to any criticism and prompts.



Sort:  

Thank you for the comment! Let's see what other people think 8)

Number 2 is my favorite!

Thank you! my too 8)

I like #3. Next to that will be original #4.

Thank you @ace108! Indeed at this photo turned out interesting light blue color of the sky. Especially when compared to the sunset photo, which is higher in the post

I like 4, but I think this scene didn't require HDR, the sun was behind you when you shot this scene right?

Thank you @shieha!
I like the picture with clearly highlighted structure of architecture and clouds. Such as it happened in the processing using Color Efex. I was hoping to get this effect by using HDR. Apparently I was wrong 8)

Yea just boost up clarity in lightroom :)

Tell me your secret please 8)
Very smooth objects are often visible in your photos. It is also the result of the processing?

I usually don't push contrast and clarity up beyond 20 in lightroom.

Thank you! I love this series of your posts 8)

Do you have a specific example in mind? Like which picture?

Like this

And all pictures of that geological formations

Thank you for posting @boddhisattva. Number one....seems to be best as it is less busy for the eye. If one may add to the dialogue....@there are several good photographers @Steemit.....@shaka takes lovely pictures of buildings....@cryptofiend says he prefers a darker photograph....@sulev will edit/critique your photographs...it would be nice if he could see these....you have two other Steemit photographs @koskl whose work includes many buildings...and @shieha's thoughts on the matter...a plus plus.

bleujay would add this....you have foreground, midground and background....however all seem to have the same scale of busy-ness..one could seek to photograph this on a less cloudy day and see what happens. Another thing one could do is lessen the colour intensity and see how that works.
All the best.

Thank you for such a detailed commentary @bluejay. I am familiar with posts of photographers you mentioned.
I hope they will see this post.
I think I'll go a few times to this place and do experiments

Thank you for the comment! Let's see what other people think 8)

8)?
Where is it?
I can't find it!

The question is "what is 8)"?
"8)" - a smile.
Usually people write :-)

Oh sorry.
I didn't understand that text.
maybe I'm too old.
thank you!

No problem 8)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54