Vietnam through my eyes

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Late 2016 I managed to finally travel to a country that had been on my girlfriend and I's list for a very long time - Vietnam.

After travelling through Thailand, Laos and Cambodia in 2013 we had always planned to go back to South East Asia to tick off Vietnam, but we wanted to have enough time to allow us to take in all it had to offer. Our trip started off in the crazy city of Ho Chi Minh and we made our way up the coast, ending up in Hanoi. The trip I will never forget as an incredible country with hospitable people, and of course amazing food!

Here's some photos from our overall journey. In another post I'll be sharing a few locations in detail so keep an eye out for that!

When arriving at Hoi An, we had found it with the streets flooded which only got worse during our stay! The locals however went on with business as normal despite having water coming through their front doors

Exploring the imperial city in Hue is a must do in my opinion for anyone travelling to Vietnam. The incredible historical importance of the site is fascinating, and to think you are walking where emperors once stood is very cool

Hiking in Phong Nha Ke Bang is a little known activity but definitely check it out if you are in to exploration. There are so many different caves to explore ranging from easy short walks to 5 day camping hikes. I'll be doing a separate post just on the Phong Nha Ke Bang area for anyone interested in checking that out. It was definitely one of the highlights of the trip for me

Finally a couple of shots from our visit to Ninh Binh national park where we took a bit of time to stop and relax, exploring the country side by bike and boat.

Let me know if you have visited any of the places listed in here, and keep an eye out in my feed for more photographic journeys!

Sort:  

These are wonderful documents @blakecastle. Please keep steeming them, follow you

Thankyou @lighteye - I'm looking forward to sharing lots more content and stories from my travels. I have followed you also!

wow very nice. I should go there too

It's an amazing place and very affordable to travel to. I'd thoroughly recommend it

You obviously have a trained eye @blakecastle. Please provide some info on your equipment and if you can send an exposure data along your photos. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Thanks @photo-trail much appreciated! These were all shot on my Sony A7R II with the Sony / Zeiss 35mm f2.8. We had limited space in our luggage so it was the perfect compact setup for travelling around!

You did a marvelous job with a single lens! Please state if you would want to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection” with a photo, or with link without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS.

Excellent work! I hope my resteem will get you some new followers

Thanks for your support!

Cool photos, @blakecastle. I stayed in the city during my trip to HCMC and remember the city flooding too lol. Getting too old for hiking these days but fantastic pictures.

Hah thanks @numpypython - the hike I have to say was pretty tough but very cool to see untouched caves that really feel like they haven't been plauged with tourists

Vietnam is my favorite country so far. You did it justice with your photos! Really nice.

I'm doing a blog series about my scooter trip through most of the country. Today I posted about arriving in Hoi An, in case you start missing Vietnam :) The photos aren't as nice as yours, but maybe they'll remind you of your time there.

Thanks for the post.

I've followed you @fronttowardenemy - love to hear stories about peoples travels and I certainly do miss it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38