Halloween Photoshoot at Betty Noir Studio

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

220DDD7F-5A5B-4C3C-BBE2-920B5D79B87F.jpeg
Halloween 2019 was my first Halloween at my new photography studio, so I just had to do a special photoshoot offer and build a brand new set for the occasion!
After constructing the units in my vintage beauty room at the studio, I had some cut outs of MDF left over, and I new straight away exactly what I was going to use them for! Tombstones!
289F2CCD-98F3-4E74-84B6-9B14A600A288.jpeg
(The units we built -mid construction. You can see that perfect tombstone shape cut out!)
I'm pretty handy with DIY tasks, so got to cutting the one board down using a jigsaw, to create a tombstone that looked like it had fallen and sunken into the ground. I had plenty of spare lengths of wood knocking around the studio from the build, and a few hinges in my tool kit, so I made stands that folded down at the back of the tombstones to prop them up (I figured having them fold flat would mean they were easier to store away when out of season).
816FF537-DBDF-45F9-8367-10F212138FAD.jpeg
Using some left over white emulsion and a small pot of black I had stashed away at home, I mixed them together to create a selection of grey tones to work with. Starting with the lighter grey base coat to cover the entire tombstone, and then working with some darker grey tones, sponged and blended around the edges, for that aged effect, and then of course the final addition of R.I.P.
1C9C3B16-AE99-4C72-84C3-DCABB7139DE2.jpeg
I had some Astro turf which I bought years ago for a floral photoshoot, and saved knowing it would be put to good use again in future. It had been folded and stored for 5 years under my bed and had started to disintegrate a little underneath, so I salvaged what I could and cut out a shape that I thought was most pleasing to the eye. The addition of some tufts of grass (one of those "I don't know what I need this for right now, but I know I'm gonna need it" purchases from a few a months earlier.
996BF58E-D985-4BE2-BD12-CDF33F334EFD.jpeg
The final addition of some Halloween cobwebs, my trusty old smoke machine and a purple gel on a 7" reflector dish to capture the stream of smoke, and my beauty to dish to capture the subject. I was ready to rock! 23976BC5-B3F8-4ED8-B738-D47B5B0600ED.jpeg
I was so pleased with the finished look!
805FDCB4-2D1F-44AB-9AAD-29FEC91760D4.jpeg
9D8BEF3E-45C7-4BBE-9CAD-B02EF5C6F07E.jpeg7B4760EE-7D9D-4608-9202-FFA9742704CB.jpeg

Some more images of one of my favourite clients on the Halloween set, burlesque performer Eliza De Lune.

All images are my own.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bettynoir! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65