ColorChallenge: Carnivorous Pitcher Plants! - Thursday Green

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Pitcher Plants have always intrigued me.

Imagine my excitement when
I discovered a restaurant that's filled with them!
No mosquitos, and pleasant outdoor dining.
Win in my books!

Taken with Canon T4i, 18-55mm lens.

Sort:  

Nice picture !! really would like to no how those plants work lol :D will follow !

i should look that up!
I'm curious so I peeked, and there's a lot of water in the cup (or digestive acids?) and dead insects floating in it. I'm assuming that's how they attract bugs and eat em'!

What a great idea. Strange but I guess logical. Win win with a wow factor.

i thought so! enjoying a meal without being eaten alive by mosquitoes? definite win!
and with minimum harm to the environment. ✨

I had venus fly trap and he wouldnt eat flies for some reason. I am not sure how it survived as long as it did.

You broke the plant !! :P

The plant was broken before me.

that's strange. i wonder why! these guys were full of itty bitty insects!

Love this! I am a big fan of carnivorous plants and had a small garden going before I moved. To my surprise they were very temperamental plants and needed quite a lot of attention!

great picture. love it! if you like plants you will love my miniature succulent garden tell me what you think https://steemit.com/colorchallange/@runicar/colorchallange-thursday-green-my-tiny-succulent-garden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53