INDIANA DUNES STATE PARKsteemCreated with Sketch.

This past weekend my wife and I went to Indiana Dunes State Park. Besides being a beautiful place it is rather unique, it is the only state park in the country contained within the borders of a National Park. That's right Indiana Dunes State Park is contained within The Indiana National Shoreline.

0.jpg

It is on the southern shores of Lake Michigan. The water is beautiful and clear, and great for swimming. It was calm on the days we were there, but often times the waves are quite large. Most of our beach trips are to the ocean and both my wife and I commented on how much we liked swimming in fresh water as opposed to salt water.

1.jpg

We arrived at the park early and were happy to find the prices were very reasonable, especially for Indiana residents.

2.jpg

One of the sand dunes surrounding the park has a lookout tower you can climb. Here is a photograph taken from it showing a view of the main area of the park.

3.jpg

Here you can see the bath house that includes changing areas, restrooms and concessions. This building has a rich history that goes way back the 1930's.

5.jpg

Oops, when I got home and looked at my pictures I discovered I had accidentally taken this selfie.

4.jpg

The Indiana Dunes National Shoreline continues on for 15 miles and is filled with nature trails and observation points. It is a favorite spot for bird watchers who can see hundreds of different species. Here you can see one of the dunes that cuts into a more wooded area.

tea1.jpg

So I am curious what you think of this hidden treasure and also what your experiences are with fresh water swimming, do you like it more than the ocean. I asked this on Facebook and was surprised by the answers.

Sort:  

Ahhh that first shot is absolutely perfect! The different shades of blue, the calm waves. Simply amazing! I could just stare at that all day... but then I saw the pile up of cars! Oy vey! I'm just happy you were able to take the first shot, and that you were able to take a dip!

I like how you included a selfie haha! I think it's the first candid moment I've seen of you, you're usually so serious :D I still can't wrap my head around lakes that big. I'm always just used to the sea, so lakes seem small for me in comparison. The place, minus the people, looks great!

That was my favorite image as well. It was Labor Day weekend, thus the crowd.

Ahh! I see. When was Labor Day?

This past weekend. For many families it's the last holiday before the kids go back to school. Sort of summers last hurrah

Ahh I see! Since my country's shifting the school schedule like that of the US, I won't be surprised if our vacation posts align next year.

I think we can watch this beach through earthcam. Very pleasant beaches across the state. Love it.

Cool, I will have to check that out.

Haha accidental selfies happen all the time :D

Ya, I am usually taking them of my leg

An occasional person is an integral part of the pictures from the rest) A beautiful view, a very sunny story!

Thanks we had a great time.

beautiful beach.

Yes it is, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54