You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Waterfall "Tschaukofall"

in #photography4 years ago

The depth of field is really fantastic especially in the first shot with the rock over hang above. I noticed on the third image what appears to be a climbing rope, do people climb that side, or is it used more to climb into a hidden pool?

Sort:  

Thank you, but I do a lot of focus stacking, to be honest ;)
As far as I know they offer canyoning in this gorge, but I don't think they jump from this hight. I think people rappel on a rope rather than jump.


!BEER

I imagine they get a pretty nice view of the falls climbing. In Alaska during the winter we have people that climb the frozen water falls along the side of the highway, not a very safe sport, but still a pretty unique thing to see when you are driving by.

I would think the rocks are pretty slippery around the waterfalls with all the splashing, so not sure it is something even as a young person I would have tried.

That's not my thing neither - I hate to fall and always take care that it won't happen. As soon as I need a rope to climb I go somewhere else ;) Same with slippery rocks and such in rivers and streams.

Yes, people do ice climbing on frozen waterfalls here too. It looks cool and easier than normal climbing, but I think it is a lot more dangerous, because it's only ice that can break any moment.


!BEER

!ENGAGE 25 I was wondering if people in other areas of the world were as nuts as the Frozen Waterfall Ice Climbers in Alaska, good to know it is not a localized insanity.

Nope, they are everywhere - they jump from cliffs as well as they jump from high bridges everywhere. Why shouldn't they climb frozen waterfalls everywhere? Because not everywhere the waterfalls are frozen and not everywhere the waterfalls are high enough ;)

Thank you so much @bashadow, I wish you a great day 😉


!BEER and !ENGAGE 50



@bashadow you have received 50 ENGAGE from @johannpiber!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!



@johannpiber you have received 25 ENGAGE from @bashadow!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!


Hey @bashadow, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27