E.3 - Making My Own Hot Pepper Dust from my Garden etc. with my HIGH SPEED BLENDER. It is 3.5 HP. No, I am not kidding. Blue Collar Barry Bachelor Kitchen Series Cont'd.

in #photography7 years ago


This series will cover what I did, blue collar simple-easy style how I made this hot pepper dust that I love to put on basically everything and sometimes, take it out with me to local eateries to put on my food.


Barry's Super Hot 12 Pepper Blend of Chili flakes. Homegrown! (:


-- I grew several strands of mild..medium...and HOT peppers which I love.

-- Researched a LOT on how to best dry and process them. This is my journey.

-- I wanted to also make it a kind of step by step tutorial for others also. I love hot food and my dream to finally grow a crop of hot peppers and make nice hot chili flakes/dust has been achieved. (:



A couple pictures early here are showing some of the pepper types as the prep started-- all of them I had grown on site here at home.

I grew about 12-14 strains of hot peppers here one summer, and they stayed frozen until I decided to take the time, to make the magic dust LOL.

You can see many of the types of peppers here, milder jalapenos, to hotter scotch bonnetts (the more round or pumpkin shaped ones-- they kinda look like hats, or "bonnetts") , red thai chili's, banannas, cubanelles, etc etc.

-- so many flavours and heat/scoville unit types, they are a full blend together and create a full body beautiful taste of heat!!

(:


Today's Episode:

Drying & Cutting Process:


Peppers ready to be CUT for processing and drying, cutting them first before drying is a huge time investment but dries them evenly and saves SO MUCH time and hydro!

--

How to: Beautiful Pepper Blend...Peppers CUT for processing and drying, cutting them first before drying is a huge time investment but dries them evenly and saves time and hydro!!!

Slit them at the least, cut them wide open, trust me!! Sorry it is blurry, I was really close up and the camera metered off that, I am not a photog.... Just a spicy lovin REALTOR ® since 1991!!

--

Let the Moisture Out!!!!

--

A whole Tray of peppers sliced in half to let the moisture out quicker when you dehydrate them.

This cutting process can take 2-4 hours, it is a lot of work but I had about 75L of peppers to do, also. (That is quite a bit)


That's the end of TODAY'S photos and progress so far in this series.

What follows is the standard I have been regularly including about the blender, power, what you need to power through the final stages -- as some people may forget or will be reading for the first time.

Here is a recent past picture or 2 of the blender / base - after I had made a bunch of soup at home there:


--

A regular blender may work but may not, my 3.5 HP blender is a leg up on a Vita Mix even! It has the power to grind anything into a powder, and do it fast because of the power and the giant extra large blender "cup" it has:

--



I use my blender for high speed veggie and fruit shakes for my health, detox stuff, etc. It's great.

It was not cheap as I have said before blogging on this beast I use all the time for things.


While it is true that a GOOD proper high speed blender of at least Vita Mix brand quality is an investment, and costs several hundred dollars, if you maintain it and use it properly, like any other "tool" -- it will save you money in the long run on food, food prep, eating at home, and good things for your health.


High speed )proper) blenders can easily make all kinds of grains into powders, turn nuts etc. into butters, and they easily can make hot soups, right out of the blender, due to the heat generated after 2-3 mins. I never run mine that long, add some warm (or hot) water upfront, saves miles of wear and tear on your blender.


I've posted on this before and talked about it on here -- that is my Waring High Speed (Commercial) Blender, so you can see everything.

--

A body can more easily absorb nutrients when they are high speed blended, at the cellular level.


Happy Blending!


Some Past Photos of this Project!

--







Above/Below - Get a decent quality Food Dehydrator!



Stay Tuned for the Next Episode!


Past Episodes:

https://steemit.com/food/@barrydutton/e-1-making-my-own-hot-pepper-dust-from-my-garden-etc-with-my-high-speed-blender-it-is-3-5-hp-no-i-am-not-kidding-blue-collar
https://steemit.com/photography/@barrydutton/e-2-making-my-own-hot-pepper-dust-from-my-garden-etc-with-my-high-speed-blender-it-is-3-5-hp-no-i-am-not-kidding-blue-collar

Thanks for reading, have a nice day.


PixaBay has tons of free pictures for us all to use!!!







If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!

--

Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@barrydutton/54fsvj-color-challenge-monday-red

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@barrydutton/monochrome-monday-in-my-steemit-shirt-will-blog-for-crypto

https://steemit.com/bitshares/@barrydutton/we-just-saw-more-history-together-total-crypto-market-cap-just-crossed-the-usd300b-mark-for-the-first-time-or-crossed-usd250b

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/breaking-cryptocurrency-market-update-overview-nov-26th-2017-or-market-cap-gains-usd106b-in-14-days-or-we-crossed-usd300b-for

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/bitcoin-in-canadastan-smashes-past-usd12-000-usdcad-usd9520-usdusd-or-1-year-ago-it-had-just-broken-usd1000-perspective-is

https://steemit.com/funny/@barrydutton/life-in-crypto-is-like-16-how-you-live-saving-money-so-you-can-spend-it-all-on-crypto


Most stock Images / Gif's day to day usually via Giphy.com , ImgFlip, Funny or Die.com, Imgur.com, PixaBay unless otherwise noted, with thanks.
Super Easy/Fast Picture Edits / Resizing at: http://www.picresize.com/ and also https://www298.lunapic.com/editor/


Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.
This has really upset some people but I do not force my opinions on others, or need to communicate every detail of my life or issues, most people do not care anyways. I invested around 10 hours or more a day on Steemit most of my first 13 mths here, I just do not have that time in my life right now, and that includes for replies and voting/curation.
I have done my best, sorry if you do not understand like some are clearly having a problem with. It's a blogging platform, and I will do my best at everything, and to keep blogging.
Carry On.

--


Sort:  

Cool post. That's awesome that you get to grow your own peppers. You must really love hot sauce, because it looks like you got a big yield there. Enjoy and thanks for sharing!

Love can be measured in lots of ways lol

Wow I just would not want to be your gut! Lol Good for you for getting creative in the kitchen! You should check out my blog on jar recipe old fashion sugar cookies!

I have had health issues again plaguing me, but last nite I had decided I had not heard from you in awhile, so I was planning on looking at your blog a lot this week actually.

I also take donations LOL

#FeedTheBachelors

--

program hahahahahaha

Nice work. looking very spicy..

The hotter the better for me.

I just love it!

Super way to save the harvest for later use! Why do you leave the seeds in, for taste or to get it hotter?

Nice post!

either or both, I don't care LOL, do you know how much work it is doing this project, forget removing the seeds LOL!!!

I know there are schools on the seed subject alone!

Yea a lot of the paste I buy is with seeds. Some say it makes them hotter, other say it gives it a better taste. Just wondered if you had a opinion about it.

I've learned to make fun with this post from your blog. Thank you so much for a nice post

You're really a real man

Looks fantastic...I grew some peppers this summer and I’m looking forward to experimenting next year with new varities.

I wish you nothing but success for sure with all this!

What is the use of this pepper

Thanks for the post , those are some great looking peppers and sauce . Resteemed upvoted and followed 😊

The gift that keeps on giving!

Bob the Statist may read this blog and comments later -- he is a detractor to both true Liberty and nice spicy food LOL

From this post I want to create something more fun and I would like you to enjoy this blog with me. Share this blog with friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60289.82
ETH 3304.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42