What a Beach! Volume 1.2

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_0338-1.jpg

After saying good-bye to the wonderful beach, my wife and I crossed the treacherous sand dunes and busy road to return to the parking area.


If you're lost and/or confused about what's happening in this story, please see the previous two posts in this series:

Volume 1.0
Volume 1.1

So where was I...ah, right. We had enjoyed all the beach that we could handle and were eager to get back into the oven...I mean...our parked car.

But alas! We were stymied by the surrounding and mightily alluring jungle landscape! So, despite our best efforts to quickly return to the roasting vehicle, we were enchanted by the scenery and stopped to take more photos. The following is what we encountered...



First things first...I had to do an obligatory barking photo. It's the new trend in photography. (Started by me, I think.) And what a glorious bark it was!


IMG_0438-1.jpg


This was a taste of the harsh environment that surrounded us. I don't know how we managed to get through it all unscathed.


IMG_0441-1.jpg


Wherever nature gives you an extreme environment to survive, it also seems to accompany it with some fine beauty...like this flower, resting among the violent wilderness.


IMG_0450-1.jpg


IMG_0451-1.jpg


After we triumphed over the deadly jungle pathway, we took a detour to the oyster shell experiment on the far reaches of the parking area. This was the work of a mad scientist, to be sure, but the oyster shells provided some good texture for photographs.


IMG_0468-1.jpg


IMG_0470-1.jpg


There were piles of them, lining the walkways, the parking lot, some sand dunes...as far as the camera eye could see.


IMG_0473-1.jpg


There were even some rare black oyster shells in the mix. They found comfort in sticking together among the sea of lifeless pearly white and gray.


IMG_0481-1.jpg


Up close, they were all just as empty inside as the others.


IMG_0479-1.jpg


After some slight depression began to sink in, we decided to move on to the fields of joy! This shot wasn't so great, but I figured I'd put it in here for some variety.


IMG_0488-1.jpg


The depth of field was a little too thin on this one and I may have slightly missed the focus, but here it is nonetheless.

Wait...I mean...

Isn't this one artistic???


IMG_0465-1.jpg


We made another new insect friend. I will call him, "Buzzy." He's good people.


IMG_0493-1.jpg


A field of wildflowers!


IMG_0499-1.jpg


IMG_0494-1.jpg


A puffy ball thing!


IMG_0511-1.jpg


And before we left, I took one last look to the skies. Then snapped a few photos. Because clouds.


IMG_0512-1.jpg


IMG_0514-1.jpg


IMG_0515-1.jpg


IMG_0516-1.jpg


IMG_0519-1.jpg



This concludes the first volume of What a Beach!


I hope you enjoyed this new series. I should be adding another collection or two in the coming weeks and will undoubtedly share it with you in the same type of format. If you have any special photo requests or new ideas that I might be able to try, let me know in the comments!

All photos taken with my Canon 6D, paid for with my Steemit earnings!


ats_content_slayer8f72e.md.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian

Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

The weird flower is "the flower of passion". Nature is always very generous and we do well to try to document its infinite beauty. Nice work ! Have a good day

Love your logo. So creative. I have to make one. Ingenious. Good post. Enjoyed the pictures. Great variety and a different take which was refreshing. You don't have to be a professional to get good pictures to convey your message and story.

Thnx so much for the upvotes. Greatly appreciated. Means a lot.

I'm glad you made it over the treacherous sand dunes. We would have missed you had you died in quicksand or something like that.

Really though? You would have missed me? You sure about that?

I was just being polite to get up votes.

Oh. Why didn't you say so???

Better yet. Just delegate me your SP and then you can go drown in quicksand. Cool?

Well then...I might just reconsider that upvote now...

Pls pls dont! Here. Feel better?

Not only did I nail the nature post, you even through in the field of wildflowers LOL.

That is a crazy amount of oyster shells, and I agree, there is something sad about it. Nice balance throwing in the clouds :)

Harsh territory not withstanding, these beach photos are making me long for the ocean, @ats-david. We've got 10,000 lakes in Minnesota but are as far as you can get from an actual ocean. I was close to the Jersey shore on this trip but Chris Christie and his family was the only ones allowed to enjoy it, lol.

seeing the world through another's eyes automatically makes us see the wonder in the ordinary. This post is a subtle satire of the photo essay Travelogue - you may be interested to know (maybe not) Jonathan Swift did the same thing to some extent in Gulliver's Travels. He was just fed up with all the travelogues being written in his day, spurred no doubt by the discovery of the New World, and he satirized them in his book Gulliver's Travels. To emphasize how boring these travelogues were he just droned on and on...you can see how this technique might be clever yet alienate readers! Don't worry - you didn't do that, my friend. Your self-deprecating humor is always refreshing. Good work and keep up the bark lol

I like the bokeh on the "artistic" shot. I think the focus hit the tip of the plant. Narrow depth of field is tricky. Plus its hard (at least for my eyes) to see the finished pic when in the field on a sunny day.
I like the DOF on the shells.

Because clouds!

What the heck are the oyster shells about, apart from looking mighty fine that is?

Mad, mad scientistry, I imagine. I don't really know. But I'm sure they're up to no good. You can't trust oysters, especially the ones without pearls and on land.

Those are the ones I trust the least!

Hmm. Maybe I need to start taking photos of bark! The oysters lining the pathway kind of freaks me out and I'm not sure why. I guess because there are so many of them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11