What a Beach! Volume 1.0

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0402-1.jpg

Summertime is finally here, so it's time for a new photo series!


If you're familiar with or liked my Gone Fishing or A Walk in the Park series, then you'll be pleased to know that What a Beach! will be similar to those. And since summer has arrived (along with my new camera), I plan on sharing my beach photos and adventures with you, my loyal followers.

This first set of photos was taken this past weekend at a state park that covers a swampy nature preserve and several miles of beach along the Atlantic coast. My wife and I spent some time checking out the scenes and capturing them for your viewing pleasure. Enjoy!



As we pulled into the parking area, we were greeted by wildflowers.


IMG_0305-1.jpg


On one end of the parking lot, there was a pallet full of oyster shells. Being part of a state park, there are usually some restoration projects or educational programs, so we figured that these oyster shells might be a part of that.


IMG_0307-1.jpg


IMG_0306-1.jpg


IMG_0309-1.jpg


We crossed the road...


IMG_0316-1.jpg


And made our way along the wooden path and up the stairs.


IMG_0317-1.jpg


We saw a couple of butterflies on the way. These are special sand dune butterflies.


IMG_0320-1.jpg


IMG_0321-1.jpg


Did someone say "sand dunes?" Oh, right. These sand dunes.

To the north...


IMG_0323-1.jpg


And to the south...


IMG_0327-1.jpg


Mmm...sea oats.


IMG_0332-1.jpg


IMG_0352-1.jpg


Some twigs and stuff in the sand? Isn't this some kind of safety hazard? This looks like something right out of the North Vietnamese playbook!


IMG_0346-1.jpg


IMG_0348-1.jpg


And finally...we made it to the ocean!


IMG_0337-1.jpg


Hmm...not as blue as we had hoped. Still beachy though!


IMG_0342-1.jpg


IMG_0345-1.jpg



Stay tuned for part two! There are plenty more photos where these came from. Thanks for stopping by once again and I hope you enjoy this new series!

*All photos taken with my Canon 6D, paid for with my Steemit rewards! I'm still working on figuring some things out with the camera settings and the lenses, so hopefully things will improve in the future.


ats_content_slayer8f72e.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian


Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

A beautiful trip, I see you enjoy it very much. Very impressed for me by looking at the photo you share. The atmosphere is very friendly, full of happiness if you can enjoy the family. What else can perpetuate every moment in through this kind of journey is filled with millions of memories. This post becomes a motivation for me to be able to travel like this. thank you @ats-david

this reminds me of outings my wife and I go on where she brings her camera and we wander in nature seeking adventure or whatever comes our way lol

Those sand dunes are massive! I love the leisurely photo essay style, narrating as you go and taking the observers right along.

The sea oats reminded me so much of Anna Maria Island - Holmes Beach, on Florida's Gulf side. I've written so many tales inspired by that wild seascape and sky. Your photos took me right back there. Lovely...

What a beautiful beach. It looks especially good to me. I just finished 18 holes of golf, and could use a nice relaxing swim. Oh Yes, it looks wonderful to me!! Thank you @ats-david!!

"What a beach!" Thats a classic

Enjoying your new camera i see... at a beautiful beach location, nontheless.
I want to go back to pismo beach, california. That place is amazing.
Or down by the keys in florida is really nice
*cheers

The new camera is working great so far. I'm working some things out.

I liked it out in California...if it weren't for all of the crazy people/government out there.

And since summer has arrived (along with my new camera)

That is one great combination.

Love your commmetary as we walk along - especially the Vietnamese twig danger, haha.

Those butterflies looked like they were waiting for you - posing for the 🎥.

The first one didn't pose for very long. I tried to snap it quickly, but it flew away after two shots. I know I could have done better!

And yeah - those sticks are dangerous. If I were blind, I'd have a lot of trouble walking away from that beach still alive.

Very nice photos, the color of the ocean i dont like because im litle bit spoiled with Adriatic sea. Hope you will have chance to visit Croatia and make some amazing photos like this. Enjoy your summer !

Love these pictures, they are all so peaceful! really well done on the shot with butterflies, that is one amazing shot! I wish i was at that beach right now, i have been working so much and these pictures gave me some sort of peace :)) thank you :) xxx

You're welcome! I am here to give you some viewing pleasure during your long work days! And you return the favor by making me hungry all day long...

It's not fair, I tell ya'!

Lovely pictures :) we took our 8 month old to the beach for the first time. Naturally we assumed given her love of water that she would squeal in delight at the sight of such a huge bath but alas. The cold was too much for her, I guess she was expecting a hot bath :p

Those beaches can be awfully tricky! Can't trust them, that's for sure. Kids can pick up on that stuff.

Great pictures @ats-david !! Nice sharp focus, and great colors, loved them.
The one with the orange butterfly is my favourite !

Thanks for sharing, and will follow to see more great posts like this one!

The images will get better. I was using auto-focus for these and testing a lens, but I switched to manual and a different lens before we were done. Those pictures are on the way "soon."

Sometimes it is better to be alone there

You want a picture of me running on the beach?

While that though was very exciting at the time, now that I've searched for my soul's deepest desires, I'll have to take pass... :D

Oh. And here I thought I was in pretty good shape...

but are you beach-body ready? :O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38