Testing My New STEEM-Backed Canon Camera

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I bought a new Canon 6D with my Steemit rewards and took it to a local park for a test run.


If you missed my last post about purchasing this camera, you can read it here: I Just Bought a New Camera...By Blogging on Steemit!

All of the images in this post are straight out of the Canon 6D with no edits. I used the 24-105mm IS STM lens and different focal lengths and shooting modes, but mostly full-auto and landscape settings that are programmed into the camera. No filters were used and there was a good mix of sun and clouds.

These were the results...


IMG_0126-1.jpg


IMG_0125-1.jpg


IMG_0127-1.jpg


IMG_0129-1.jpg


IMG_0128-1.jpg


IMG_0130-1.jpg


IMG_0143-1.jpg


IMG_0144-1.jpg


IMG_0149-1.jpg


IMG_0151-1.jpg


Do you see the woodpecker?


IMG_0156-1.jpg


IMG_0161-1.jpg


IMG_0164-1.jpg


IMG_0167-1.jpg


IMG_0168-1.jpg


IMG_0169-1.jpg


IMG_0173-1.jpg


IMG_0176-1.jpg


IMG_0177-1.jpg


IMG_0180-1.jpg


Back at home, the little feline was taking a bath.


IMG_0105-1.jpg


IMG_0108-1.jpg


I must have gotten too close...


IMG_0111-1.jpg


And then she was done.


IMG_0117-1.jpg


So far, things are looking pretty good. I'll test some of the aperture, portrait, and night-time modes soon and share some of my results in future posts. What do you think of these shots? If you've seen my prior work in A Walk in the Park or Gone Fishing, how do these compare to those images?

I welcome any feedback, good or bad. Thanks for stopping by!


ats_content_slayer8f72e.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian


Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

Really great shots! And so awesome to be able to buy with Steem rewards. The two cloud shots are my favorite.

do you know that the new 6d is coming out in a few weeks?!

I would return the cam and wait for the next version. You are buying tech that is a generation behind at not a proper discount.

Yeah, the 6D Mark II won't be released here until mid-August, but I wanted a good camera now. I'm taking several trips in the next two months and I wanted to have it with me. As far as I'm concerned, the camera works great, the pictures look great, and any improvements in quality will be minimal or just won't matter much for my personal needs.

Besides...I can always upgrade down the road!

stunning photos, great job! but considering my photography skills are bad, don't take my opinion to seriously :) anything steem-backed comes out pretty great, eh?

Yeah, it sure does! Thanks for the comment!

I love the cat pics the most!

Great pictures.. Im currently thinking of investing in a nikon a5. I have a friend of mine using it, he is an internstional photographer from india and its freaking amazing..
Cheers for the great camera and much lovele as always..
Goldie

Great looking photo's! And congrats with your new camera. I've been browsing through your Other Posts with photo's and you've really made some Nice ones. I'll be looking forward to your travel photo's in the next coming months.

Wow @ats-david. You've inspired me by this post! Looks like the new camera is working wonders! You can find art from this post included in my post here.

I write nothing about art, but have a major appreciation for artists and the fact that they don't make enough to live on usually or struggle. I hope my contribution can help you get more traffic!

Feel free to tag other artists in my post along with the hashtag #SteemianArtist and I will start including some more of your and their work :)

Thanks! Steem-powered is the only way to live right now! Amirite?

Well when we get to the point of Steem-powered cars, Steem-powered homes, Steem-powered everything.... <3

A Steem-powered car is next on the list! Stay tuned for that post...coming by the end of summer, perhaps.

really lovely photos - my wife, @countrygirl, is a photographer, and I'm not technically expert but I can appreciate art when I see it. I love the delicate sense that you captured in the flower pics, and I have a tabby Muse Cat, so I know how exasperating working with feline demigods can be :)

Aww...only 6? I need to do better next time...

It's essentially the same as 4.5 ice cream cones out of 5.

Hmm...I think I like the 4.5 ice cream cones better. That's like, 90% good!

Yes! I am also glad with the choice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65