Flora, Fauna, and Photos for Fun

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I've been testing out my new camera over the past week and decided to take it out for another couple of runs.


The following photos were taken on two different days in my neighborhood with my Canon 6D. The lens used for this set of images was a Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG. All of the images are in large JPEG format. I'm still working on my focus with this lens, but it's getting a little better with each shoot.

Enjoy!



IMG_0525-2-1.jpg


IMG_0530-2-1.jpg


IMG_0274-2-1.jpg


IMG_0283-2-1.jpg


IMG_0535-2-1.jpg


IMG_0538-2-1.jpg


IMG_0549-2-1.jpg


IMG_0555-2-1.jpg


IMG_0543-2-1.jpg


IMG_0562-2-1.jpg


IMG_0568-2-1.jpg


IMG_0573-2-1.jpg


This little guy likes to hang out in one of the walkways. He recently lost his tail, but it's growing back slowly. These pictures were taken five days apart.


IMG_0297-2-1.jpg


IMG_0575-2-1.jpg



If anyone has any tips or tricks about zeroing in on those distant subjects with manual focus, let me know!


ats_content_slayer8f72e.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian


Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

Why the hell did you cook that little guy's tail :(
Awesome composition on some of the shots, I particular like the bench by the pond and the 2nd picture with the flower.
I only have one blog post in photography but will post some more soon, as we have this passion in common #nohomo

This one is my favorite! The color combination is magnificent!
You have taken incredible shots​, ​David!

What insect is that? Is it an ant? It looks like it owns that place!

It looks like it's just some kind of wasp. He wasn't bothering me, so that was good. But I sure didn't mind exploiting him!

Good to know that. Yes, he pretended that you are not there and it acted as normal! I really find it interesting. Again you have taken​ excellent​t photos!
Cheers David!

looks like a hornet

I must confess, I'm hoping the turtle eats whatever it is before it pokes somebody. o_0

I love the lattice-work of the third photo - is it some kind of tree bark? The texture is amazing.

I also liked the 10th photo because there were several things going on there - the interplay of colour and light --and it took a few moments but I finally noticed the insect, almost camouflaged against the foliage. Such an imposter! LOL

I love the lattice-work of the third photo - is it some kind of tree bark?

Yes, it was a palm tree.

And that little wasp was buzzing around for a while before he landed. I'm just glad he wasn't in the mood for harassing humans.

ha ha... I love pollinators, wasps, not so much.
It's amazing when you think the bark of a tree is analogous to our skin...
I am still fascinated by that pattern - must be another complicated genetic code to produce that phenotype - fibonacci numbers in nature, no doubt :)

I'm also right now trying to become a better photographer - it's really a lot more complicated then I thought to take good pictures ;). Awesome you've such a cool camera to try. Just came across this awesome online photography course and it's helping me a lot already. If anyone wants to take a look: https://sites.google.com/site/marclevoylectures/schedule

Keep it up :-)

Dang, those look pretty sharp!

For contrast, here's a pic of our artichoke I took with my phone. Pretty good, but not as rad as yours, and I had to get close. Got inspired after this and grabbed a couple more shots of the garden.

Thanks for the inspo! :)

artichoke blooming.JPG

Well, it's nice how inspiration comes to people. Reading posts do inspire me also to start photography. These photographs look so damn real. So calming and satisfying. It's the nature's beauty and of course nothing can be as beautiful as our nature is.

Totes. We're always calmed down by time spent in the garden, even when Lee sprays me with the hose. Love that dirt-between-the-toes feeling!

I've never seen that before. o,o

Neat!

Makes it easy to recognize that artichokes are just a big overgrown (and delicious) thistle.

Also makes it easy to recognize that I'm easily amused. -laugh-

Seeing broccoli flower is kind of funny, too. ^_^

Mmm...thistles! They're tasty!

Especially with butter & lemon juice. Ho-ho-holy moly!

That would be a pretty good guess.

Your camera should have a magnifying glass function that lets you temporarily see things at 5-10x through your digital viewfinder, this would enable you to focus crisply on a detail then pull back out. Hope this helps David! By the way, nice pics, looking good!

Well, I've always tried the zoom in, focus, zoom out method, but doesn't always get me close enough to tell if the focus is right. I'll check for that function though. That might be helpful. Thanks!

Nice photos, man. My favorite is the first one with the turtle. As @gurudeva suggested, there must be some sort of a manual focus assist, probably in live view mode? My Fuji camera for example has focus peaking, which makes manual focusing super easy.

right on man glad you are getting out there and gaining skills with a pro camera! Looking forward to seeing what you create with it!

You can always take a couple shots of the same composition and make little micro adjustments with your focus; that way, you have a few to choose from in case your single shot isn't focused correctly. Always good to have more than you need!

I also have a Canon 6D, awesome camera! I do a lot of filmmaking, and I always shoot more than I need. A lot of times, I find that I'm glad I kept the camera on for a few seconds longer, or shot more of the same composition. Because when you get back to your computer, things look much different than they did on your camera screen!

Ahh the new camera. These look awesome. I think the big thing that is noticeable is the finer bokeh you get with an SLR!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80