A Walk in the Park: Photographic Short Stories, Volume IX

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Another adventure into the wilderness! This time, we visited a nature preserve with an 8.5-mile trail.

Back in February, on Super Bowl weekend, my wife and I went on another journey. We found a nature preserve with a walking trail that ran along some swampland and decided to give it a shot. The sun was setting earlier back then and we had a late start to our day, but we set out nonetheless in the mid-afternoon on a Saturday. The weather was mostly sunny and cool – in the upper 50s – and there was a light breeze.

Here is the first part of our photographic story, which I have dubbed The Swampy Nature Preserve.


We arrived at the preserve and made our way to the entrance of the trail. I stopped for a second to admire the contrast in colors of this plant and the blue sky.


IMG_3131_1.jpg


This was taken at the entrance. Yeah...those are well-established tire tracks. I guess it wasn't really a "preserve," if we want to be technical about it.


IMG_3132_1.jpg


Just to the right, only a few steps into the preserve, was a little swampy pond.


IMG_3133_1.jpg


And we were on our way...


IMG_3140_1.jpg


IMG_3146_1.jpg


IMG_3148_1.jpg


There were several off-shoots from the main trail. These were labeled as "biking trails," but while we were there, the biking trails were "closed." I'm not even sure how that's possible. Apparently, the bikers listened, because we didn't see any on those trails.


IMG_3150_3151_combo.jpg


Look up!


IMG_3155_1.jpg


Watch your feet!


IMG_3156_1.jpg


It was difficult at times to get good pictures because of the brightness of the sun, but I managed to get a few worth keeping.


IMG_3160_1.jpg


This is what scientists call a "pine cone." Notice the shape. It's almost like a cone, isn't it? Well, that's where the name for the shape "cone" comes from...pine cones.


IMG_3162_1.jpg


More trees and things of that...nature.


IMG_3164_1.jpg


IMG_3167_1.jpg


This tree kept getting in the way of my shots, so I did a Kickboxer on it. (I've been working out.)


IMG_3168_1.jpg


A view down one of the bike trails. Do you see the hunting platform in the trees?


IMG_3173_1.jpg


Proof that we were breaking the rules.


IMG_3174_1.jpg


More trees, sunlight, and tracks.


IMG_3178_1.jpg


IMG_3181_1.jpg


A little stream nudged up to the trail. It was partially dammed up by a fallen palm tree. This may have been intentional. The beavers may be learning...

OK, so there aren't any beavers here. But still...something might be learning out in the preserve. Or it just fell over all by itself. It's a mystery and a conspiracy. Or not. Who knows?


IMG_3183_1.jpg


There was a small clearing in the forest. This is where the bears hang out. Oh, yes...there are bears. They share the space with the alligators. What a lovely thought as we hiked late in the afternoon, mostly by ourselves!


IMG_3187_1.jpg


Stay tuned for part two of this series. You'll get to find out if we survived the nature preserve or not! You get no hints or spoilers!

Thanks for stopping by!

Photos taken with my iPhone 6S


ats_content_slayer8f72e.md.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian

Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

Very nice shots. What camera did ya use on these ?

Oh, I forgot to mention that...

I took these with an iPhone 6S.

I was curious if it was a phone, man they sure have improved in recent years..

My first digital cam was a Sony Cyber shot, think it was like 1.2 megapixal and sold for over $400.00, and it wasn't really that long ago...

Thanks for sharing :)

I need woods in my life!

wonderful nature! Thanks, you have a new follower!

Awesome! Thank you!

I really enjoy your style when you share outings with us! I look forward to part 2!

Thanks! I'll probably have at least two more posts from this outing. I have a lot of catching up to do!

Looks like #TEXAS, All those damn pine trees.

Yeah...they're not very aesthetically pleasing. And I've been out in west-ish Texas before - for about 6 months. I don't know if I'd ever be able to live there for any extended period of time. I haven't been back yet, and that was 14 years ago!

HAHAHAHA, yeah west Texas is a arid desert. The small town's have character but most "outsiders" have a hard time fitting in.

Well, they certainly make you feel like an outsider. Bless their little hearts for not even trying. They need to learn some hospitality from the "old" South...and this is coming from a northerner.

You are so right. We werent very welcomed either. When we explained we were looking for land, all of a sudden we were well received.

Ah, so that's the trick. I should have told them I was looking for a few hundred acres to run some cattle. They probably would have offered me a place to sleep, a hot meal, and their first-born daughter.

I'll remember that for next time!

Excellent post dear friend @ ats-david congratulations on the excellent captures

Nature looks so beautiful. Your photography is absolutely perfect.

Well...I think I can work on a few things. But the next few batches of photos should be better. These were basically just setting the scene. Be sure to come back and see the others!

I will surely see your next batches of photos

Thank you. It gave me some rest @ats-david

You're welcome. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

See any alligators lol

No, I think it was too cold for them. And we really didn't go near the areas where they hang out. We stuck with the main trail for this adventure. Although - we did go back the next week to explore further, but I'll save that for another post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61170.16
ETH 2717.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41