Garden Surprise!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

3DB73617-2300-4999-B273-CDB14BA680A6.jpeg
Volunteer plants springing everywhere are very common here in Southern California with our mild climate. Some papaya seeds the chickens never got to grew up to be fruit bearing papaya trees!
And we picked our first tiny treat this morning!
Sweet and delicious, we usually enjoy this fruit with a sprinkling of salt and a squeeze of lime from our always pregnant with blooms lime trees.
It’s such a treat to find unexpected gifts in my garden!
9C0B490A-4A20-49A3-A5B1-23B729204EB2.jpeg
Have any volunteer plants surprised you lately?
4377FCA3-4EBF-4EB8-A94F-9B32FF96E18C.jpeg

Sort:  

boldYour so fortunate to have a climate to support growing these delicious fruit!

It truly is a gift to be able to have goodies year round :)

Our only 'volunteer plants' are weeds, and the ocassional potato that was left in the compost.

What a very cool treat; seems so remote and exotic, sitting here in they cold grey gloom of Washington state. Congratulations! It's always fun when volunteers come along and bear fruit.

It truly is! So glad my hens spared this couple of seeds. Happy wednesday and thank you for stopping by!

I dont believe so, even though Tennessee is known as the volunteer state.

You should toss out seeds from your kitchen everywhere, you never do know what surprises might bloom!

I like that idea. Ill have to start doing it.

Very nice to get a surprise-ya papaya! We have a tiny volunteer loquat growing too close to the house foundation and need to relocate it!

Haha :) I tried relocating a loquat and it dried on me :(

They are sensitive little snowflakes, aren't they? They don't appreciate reloquation ;)

I am not too much of a papaya fan but I would make myself a fan if I had free trees growing! Looks nice and fresh.

Hello friend! Papaya is so much different when grown at home, the smell, texture and flavor is much more delicious yet subtle.

You wrote the fabolous poem
I read some of them
You are going well very best wishes dear
Thank you
This one is a healthy one

The girls are going to be glad they missed that seed if it means extra goodness later on. Great surprise!

I could never be angry at my little feathered crazies haha There are still 3 more to harvest in a couple of days! I'm hoping it's just as delicious!

Isn't it amazing the amount of 'sins' cute covers? LOL!

Don't forget to save a few seeds from the next ones... just in case. You may want to plant a few more for extra goodness!

Can you believe this one was seedless? I don’t know how it was possible if the parent plan obviously had seeds???? And yes cute makes me look the other way lol

Wow, that IS odd. It'll be interesting to see if the next ones have seeds or not.

Papaya is a nutritious food that reduces the amount of water on the body and enhances disease prevention. It is a very good and sweet fruit

It is always great to have volunteer plants

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79