Street Artists (Photo Project)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

As I usually wonder about when photographing on the street, I came up with the idea to photograph street artists.

Street artists are people who perform on the street and make a living doing so. They are a common site in many large cities all over the world. I learned that some of them where street artists by choice, others by necessity.

Street Artists (Photo Project)-4.jpg

Many of these photos were taken when I used to live in Rotterdam which is the second largest city in the Netherlands. In my encounters with these street artists they proved to be some of the most friendly, talented and hardworking people I know.

Street Artists (Photo Project)-3.jpg

During the time I was photographing this theme, eventually I started to learn were every artist in the city preferred to work. Some street artists were always performing their craft on a certain street corner. People are creatures of habit after all.

Street Artists (Photo Project)-5.jpg

Once I started interacting with these people, I found the streets empty and lifeless when they were not around. For me it felt like they were in a way the soul of the city.

Street Artists (Photo Project)-1.jpg

Street Artists (Photo Project)-7.jpg

So, next time you pass these fine people by, take a minute of your time to enjoy and if you appreciate the performance, drop them some coin. Too bad they do not take Steem yet!

So, this wraps it up, I hope you enjoyed this one.

If you like this post, I would appreciate if you could "Share or ReSteem".
Follow me at @apprenticeoflife

See you next post!

Sort:  

most underrated post of the day ! thanks to @Photo-trail exposure on dailyphotoselection I get to see this excellent study of street entertainers.. Really like the attention on interaction. spot on

Thanks for noticing outerground, am happy you dropped by! :)

my pleasure. always interested to see good work and be inspired by fellow thinkers !

Excellent work @apprenticeoflife, this is going to the DPS. Upvoted and resteemed, of course.

Really glad you like it, I appreciated allot photo-trail! Hope to see you soon on another post!

Nice pictures!
People should spend more time on streets. Everytime I see some scenes e.g. from L.A. I feel really uncomfortable. I've been there for two weeks. It was a hard time for me. :D
Everybody sits in their own car and doesn't interact with foreign people on the street - no eye contact, only red blinking car lights. That's one reason in my opinion why some humans are scared of each other.

They don't communicate to each other and have no idea of each other.

I'm glad that I live in a comparatively small city (Vienna), but in a City with a lot of places of communication. I love to life in Europe and I love our (hopefully standing) open mind and culture.

I whole heartedly agree with you spechtl, thanks for sharing!

Really great stuff! You are fortunate to be able to do it @apprenticeoflife .

That is the way I feel about it, happy to share the experience with you guys!

I will see you. Who knows maybe I'm just around the next corner.

Great photos, I love people who create something for people. It often happens that such people have great talent

You are totally right my friend! Aside from talent, they are some of the nicest people around as I mentioned in my post. Thanks for noticing!

Can i listen to them somewhere?

I bet you can! Mostly in the summer period the streets are buzzing with activity and thus also the Street Artists. Cities like Rotterdam and Amsterdam are the place to be for these guys! I believe they make quite a good living in this season!

Do you think there is an app to find such people in real time? :)

Congratulations @apprenticeoflife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @apprenticeoflife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60870.17
ETH 3385.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57