3 B's: Boats, Bikes and Bridges - the Netherlands at its very best!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0079.JPG

CRUSH!

Today I took my camera and went for a walk. And oh my god. I think I have a crush on the place where I live. Once I start taking pictures, there is just no stopping it! See, we live on this tiny island in the heart of Rotterdam, on the West coast of Netherlands. And living on this little island, naturally we're always surrounded by water, and boats, and bridges. And those just make for such an awesome scenery.

maaskade.JPG

Our side of the Noordereiland, a tiny island on the middle of the Maas

The 3 B's

Boats, bridges. And bikes. I love taking pictures of bikes too, especially together with boats. It might be my genes. Because when it comes to this little country of ours, 26% of it lies below sea level, 21% of the population lives below sea level (that includes my husband and me), and only 50% of the country is higher than one meter above sea level. It's one wet, low, and flat place to live. If you don't enjoy water, then better go somewhere else, I guess. The bridges come with the water. And the bikes are just an awesome way of transport when the country is so super flat.

bike and boat.JPG

The neighbor's bike, very modern and simplistic. Goes well with the boat.

o-bike.JPG

We have a lot of these around these days: O-bikes. Apparently you can access them through some kind of app. Never tried, I have a bike of my own. Which I was wanting to tell you about: we got new bikes for ourselves, and they are absolutely wonderful!

nieuwe fietsen.JPG

Look at them! Pretty neat, right? They're from a Dutch brand called Gazelle (both a Dutch and English word), and I just feel it's such an appropriate name for a great bike brand, because riding a quality bike must in a way be similar to riding a horse but then much lighter and a gazelle is just what fits that idea. Obviously, I never really rode a horse ;)

nieuwe fietsen1.JPG

We got the same bikes, but a different size and colour. The smaller one, blue, is mine.

Borsten, billen, benen

So I was taking pictures today of Boats, Bikes and Bridges, and I thought I'd write up a post and show them to you and call it the 3 B's. Which would have made for a funny title twist, except that I had the 3 Dutch B's in mind: borsten, billen, benen (breasts, behind and legs), referring to the areas of a lady's body that most men feel attracted to, and often have one of these three which they prefer over the others. For example, a guy could say he's a 'billen-man', meaning of all there is to like about a lady, he's most interested in and most affected by her but. A 'benen-man' would feel the same about a lady's legs. Just for you to be able to make some conversation when you visit here ;).

Speaking about ladies. There were boats around today with some lovely names:

suzette.JPG

cathalijn.JPG

isis1.JPG

pantha-rei.JPG

This one wasn't a lady's name, but still a name well chosen, 'Panta-Rhei' being Heraclitus's phrase and meaning 'all flows'. (With a sneak-preview of 'de Hef' in the back)

bobby1.JPG

And then there was Bobby, with a little public-area-personal-garden in front.

Colourful chaos

I took more than 200 pictures today. Is that normal? I was outside for quite a while, and really, really enjoyed myself. Anyway, the pictures are too many for just this one post. But among my favourites of the day were these pictures that have everything what I love most about my island. The water, the boats, the skyline, a lot of colour, and a dose of chaos. Some rusty old-fashioned ships, the worn wood, the modern buildings and then in between that ever peaceful, ever tranquil, ever quiet water, welcoming all experiences and bringing you back to some deep breaths and a moment of happiness.

see-through.JPG

See-through (and ropes)

ropes.JPG

Ropes

reddingsbanden.JPG

Rescue belts (and ropes)

ropes1.JPG

More ropes

bloemetjesgordijn.JPG

And then the colours and the retro design on this boat, with the flower curtains, and just a hint of modern office buildings in the back. I love this image, although it's very possible that no one else would consider it a great picture. Lol. What do you think?

Bridges

I think a problem with this post is I've shown you bikes and boats, but less bridges. There are 5 around my island. The most famous is probably the Erasmus bridge, which connects North and South of Rotterdam, but doesn't connect my island since it's on the middle of the river. When I walk to the West side of our island, I can take pics of the Erasmus, but I always have to take those photographs against the light (probably if I go early morning the light would be much better, but I usually go in the afternoon and then I face the setting sun) and it never really looks so great. But I promised you bridges, so here was today's best Erasmus result:

IMG_0064.JPG

Erasmus, view from Noordereiland

IMG_0095.JPG

Bobby and the bridge and some seagulls

Then there's the Willemsbrug, which connects our island to the North side of Rotterdam. It's not so very pretty really. They did a good job restoring it last year, including repainting in recognisable bright red. Today I just forgot about the Willemsbrug a bit, and this is the most you'll get to see of it for now:

isis en willemsbrug.JPG

See the red in the far back? That's the Willemsbrug.

My favourite bridge however, de Hef - I took m.a.n.y. pictures of that one. And the Koninginnebrug, which is right next to it. And the bridge on the Stieltjesstraat, opposite of Noordereiland, leading to the Entrepot Port area. So as far as the bridges go, the best is definitely still to come! Thanks for reading and for all your support, and hope you'll be back for part 2 of the 3 B's!

As always, pictures and contents are mine and Steemit originals.
Camera: Canon Powershot G7X

Sort:  

My brother lives on Noordereiland too :D Curious to see your best picture of the HEF! ;-)

Cool! Which side? And just posted de Hef ones :)

Looking towards the center of our city :D

Nice BBB

You guys also have those public bikes? They started in China with a company called MoBike. You download an app, make a deposit and then scan the QR code under the seat. Once you are finished riding, you lock it up and the app charges you. I really like them! However I head that everyone in the Netherlands owns a bike, so I am not sure how popular it is over there.

Thanks! Ha so that's how it works! I guess there are always people visiting town who might find them useful. If you go somewhere by car then want to continue by bike. Or tourists :)

Congratulations @amritadeva! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62852.17
ETH 2463.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64