Our local Zoo (Picture Set)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Almost exactly one year ago my girlfriend and I didn't know what to do, so we decided to pay our local Zoo a visit. It turned out to be a great time. It was winter though, so my camera was pretty handicapped whenever we went inside any of the exhibits. The lens got too foggy because the air was so humid. Four of the pictures stood out to me so I wanted to share them with all of you.

The Phant.jpg

I decided to take this picture at noon and set my white balance right inbetween the temperature of the walls reflection and the actual sunlight and only apply a small bit of color-correction later on. That simple trick created that orange-tealy atmosphere that's pretty natural and not overly "artistic". The slight natural frame (The tree and the edge of the window) guides the eye to the face of the elephant without forcing it.

The Lion_.jpg

Oh yeah, now that's what I call a buttscratch. This is one of my favourites just because of the look on his face, I swear he didn't look like that in my viewfinder, I saw the look when I reviewed some of my pictures and had a good laugh. A funny picture, but the natural colors also make it interesting to look at

Mara namens Ta.jpg

What kind of animal is that? A Rabbit? A Bunny? Or might it be a guinea pig?
No! It's their common ancestor that still exists today, it's called "Mara". I normally don't take pictures without any thought going into my frame, but I just think they are cute, and because they are very shy they back away from any place the visitors can go. But there it was, and I managed to capture it before it ran away. Cute, isn't it?

The Orang.jpg

Not quite the charmer right here. Orang-Utangs are known as the "Chill" kind of apes, but they no doubt have a sharp set of teeth in their mouth. Definitely not a good picture. Some fog on the lens, a reflecting window. The colors are off and back then I didn't fix them properly. But damn those teeth!

Thank you for taking a look on all of my old pictures of that day :D I hope you enjoyed them. I will continue on my steemit venture of sharing all the stories behind my pictures.

Sort:  

hey so nice I really like your post! Thanks for it! I actually wrote my 2nd part of my introduceyouself and I write about that I went to jail because of cryptos... lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! I would like to read a bit more about you and maybe do you have some more pictures? Maybe you upvote me and follow me swell as I do? https://steemit.com/counterfeit/@mykarma/2-jail-review-counterfeit-euro-speeeeending-time

Congratulations @alphaalias! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alphaalias! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62959.39
ETH 2453.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62