Print Your Photo's - Learn From My Mistakes (pt 2)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

You may have seen my post earlier today, detailing my experiences with digital data loss and recovery.(https://steemit.com/life/@alexabbottphoto/back-up-your-back-up-s-learn-from-my-mistakes)

In this part 2 I will be discussing the importance of printing photographs.

youth034.jpg

This photograph was taken of my nephew when he was a toddler, it was taken around 10 years ago. I recently lost the original file as detailed in the post linked above, and while Ive recovered a low res version, just big enough to make a small print from, Im fortunate that this memory was printed from the original file for my mum and it hangs in her house, so in that respect we have a decent sized copy of this photo.

In this digital age, Im amazed, perhaps because my business is photography, how many pictures nowadays never leave a hard drive. The message I hope that you will take from this is that digital files corrupt, but tangible photographs can be rescued, held, see, passed on and cherished forever.

Sort:  

I lost some valuable printed photos a few years back. The lesson was - print several copies and don't keep them all in the same place or give them to the same person.

Congratulations @alexabbottphoto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Agreed.

There's something about having a printed photo that's different than keeping it on a hard drive, or uploading it to a Facebook or Instagram.

I love going through old school picture albums. My mother used to take pictures all the time. I remember the excitement after getting them film developed and seeing how the pictures turned out. Now it's different, now no one prints off pictures anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56