34 favorite photos from 15 days of shooting challenge, impressions and lessons learned

in #photography6 years ago

After a few days of deserved rest it's time to give the final impressions about my recent photography project "15 rolls in 15 days" where I went out shooting for 15 days with a limited amount of shots each day. The idea was to simulate using a film camera by slowing down, working carefully on each composition and avoiding instant review of images in the LCD screen. There were a lot of challenges along the way, but you guys who followed the project and gave me great and valuable comments made the experience easier and more enjoyable.


As I made the promise of posting at least 10 photos each day, good or bad, the first challenge was finding somewhat innovative places and scenes. Pressure to deliver made me wander off and explore some parts of the city I've never been before and when I would return to the usual spots I was constantly looking for new perspectives, angles, backgrounds, things to use as frames or foregrounds etc. As a result my eye developed and I started seeing much more opportunities around me. Instead of snapping photos from the obvious spots, whether it be people or landscapes, I was putting extra effort to find a better position for myself. This is the most valuable thing I'll take away from this challenge. The quote from Dostoyevsky might be a fit here:

But I always liked side-paths, little dark back-alleys behind the main road- there one finds adventures and surprises, and precious metal in the dirt.

Normally I would shoot street photography with a narrow aperture like f/8 and have the entire scene in focus. It also helps to make sure your main subject is in focus and not blurred out due to shallow depth of field. However, during this challenge I have experimented a lot with a wide open lens at f/2 or f/2.8. While I sometimes fail to nail the focus on subject, when I do pull it off photos look great and the shallow depth of field gives them this appealing 3D look.

One day I forgot to charge the batteries and I had to shoot with my phone to keep the challenge going. To my surprise, I took some of the best photos that day. It was obvious at that moment, that it's not about the camera, but the photographer's approach and skill level. Really wide phone angle made it obligatory to come really close to the subjects. Turned to black and white, the photos looked really decent and occasional slight blur gave them a nice vintage look. Anyone interested in street photography, but doesn't have the camera - try doing it with your smartphone. I believe it's better than doing it with a big, obtrusive DSLR.

Another thing I wanted to work on during this challenge is being comfortable with getting really close to subjects and "working the scene" when possible instead of just snapping a quick photo and walking away. I avoided shooting from the hip to make sure I had the composition right, even if it means subjects noticing me with the camera. It's exciting shooting this way - up close and with full control over the composition. I also had a lot of great interactions with people on the streets and not one bad experience.

Something I realized when the challenge was over and after printing some of my favorite shots is that printing your photos is such a rewarding and beautiful experience. Almost like a second part of photography. You see things on paper you wouldn't otherwise notice on your 4K monitor. Digital era brought a lot of benefits but seeing your print come to life is so satisfying, almost like waiting for the film to develop.

Of course there were disappointments during the challenge, like coming home and realizing I missed focus on some promising shots. I did my best to try and learn from those mistakes.

Lastly, I was reaffirmed that best photos are those you work really hard for - rarely it is a lucky shot. On day 9, we had the strong wind and rain and while everyone was running the streets for shelter, I was soaking wet outside taking some of my best photos so far and having the time of my life. :)

I hope you enjoyed the project and I plan on doing a sequel during summer. I would love to hear what were your favorite photos from this series. I couldn't narrow it down from these 34. :)



Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, follow @alcibiades for future photography stories.

Sort:  

I've really enjoyed following your challenge! 4,12,15 - my favorite days and here are my favorite photos although it's hard to choose and I can easily double them :D

Wow thanks so much for sharing these! It's amazing to see that you've chosen a lot of photos that I haven't included in my top selection. I'll get back to this if I decide to make a photobook or something with extended number of photos. :)
I'm glad you enjoyed the project and your support meant a lot!

And thank you very much for making us part of it :) Looking forward to the next ones

What an amazing write-up! I am so glad to see prints of them!! They look so good, and seeing your favourites was amazing, they each have something so unique and special, amazing project and I've really enjoyed following it, I am hoping to start a similar project inspired by it soon!

Thank you! I'm so glad this inspired you to try something similar. It's a lot of fun and I ended up with a lot of great photos. :) Looking forward to see what you'll come up with!

I dig all of them. Great selection of street candids and some neo-classical nature shots.

I enjoyed this one a lot. Has enough mood to backup the composition. Well done.

I'm glad you enjoyed both street and nature/urban exploration shots. Great choice!

Seeing this post excites me, especially upon reading the title "34 favorite photos", in all honesty, your choices matched 70% of what my choices are.
Definitely, the photos under the strong wind will be my top choices :) Your creative angles and framing gave me much learning to hone my skills as well. Your upclose shot of your subjects is giving me the motivation to try it also.


For the colored print, I love the consistency of the hues, they look soothing. While the black and white depicts nostalgia to the photos. They all look great in paper :)


Lastly, Congrats! You have accomplished an important milestone to your photography journey. A huge undertaking and you managed to succeed on it :)


I did a lengthy comment, but believe me, I tried making it short already :)
I learned a lot from your 15 rolls in 15 days series and I'm already looking forward to the sequel ;)
Cheers buddy!

I'm glad a lot of our favorite photos matched, but also that you would include some that I haven't. :) Thanks so much for following along with the project, it really meant a lot!

Have you tried printing the photos? Those urban exploring shots would look great. Definitely recommend if you haven't. :)

The moment I saw your prints, the idea of doing it to my own photos get into me :D I'm inspired by how your images turned out in paper, with all honesty, I haven't print any of my photos before :D not sure why. I think this is the time for me to do it.
By the way, may I know the type of paper you used? Is it the glossy type or matte?

Go for it! :D
I used matte paper - compared to glossy, it doesn't reflect much light, or leave fingerprints and it simply works better for the film style I was going for. Colors are not overly saturated and also it works great for black and whites.
But it all depends on your style, try both and see which you enjoy more. :)

Thanks for the advise, base on what you said, matte will be my preference too :) I'll start to print on the urban explore shots, wonder what result will I get...
I will definitely go for it! :)

This is an exceptional post! You hit all the right buttons!! 😇

I thoroughly enjoyed watching all your photographic exercises for the last two weeks and a day. I looked forward to seeing what you'd make.

You said

As a result my eye developed and I started seeing much more opportunities around me. Instead of snapping photos from the obvious spots, whether it be people or landscapes, I was putting extra effort to find a better position for myself. This is the most valuable thing I'll take away from this challenge.

Excellent advice!

I am not going to say which are my favorites because these are YOUR favorites and it's about you at this point in your journey.

Also, I noticed that you've actually printed your photos. I've never done that. Maybe I should give that a go - it's not expensive to get prints.

Amazing post @alcibiades. :)

Thank you! And I looked forward to your valuable feedback. :)

Print out some of your favorite photos - you'll appreciate the whole photography process more and you'll learn if you were doing something wrong like underexposing etc. It's easier to notice on paper than on screen.

Also, you can easily show your work to friends, visitors and anyone who might enjoy it. :)

I'll give it a go. I was frustrated today though. I went out looking for signs of spring....sounds like a good plan. But when I got home and uploaded my photos to LightRoom I noticed a purple pink line of color outlining some of the objects in the photo. I only could detect it zoomed in. But....I don't know why. I have to figure it out - it happened with my last batch of photos too. If you know or have experienced this please let me know!! So disappointing when that happens. I wouldn't need to print these ones out to see it! lol.

Oh the color would dilute if I removed purple in the saturation edit but I could still see it.

I'm guessing it has something to do with wide aperture and a really sunny day. Were you shooting the problematic shots wide open like f/1.8 or f/2? If yes, try stopping down the aperture next time. There's an option in Lightroom, Remove chromatic aberration - maybe that can help.
Desaturating purples will also remove them from other parts of the image.

Oh thank you SO much!!! I'll try that. I wondered if that might be the problem. I was shooting with f/1.8 today bc I wanted to macro shots of buds and whatnot. But I didn't change the aperture when shooting farther away. I'll look into that chromatic aberration and see how that does. You're the best!

Hey @alcibiades
I really like all your shots you were posting here on Steemit and honestly ... they look professional to me and could hang in a gallery. My favorite picture of your 34 picture series is the young couple which is laughing and creating a really happy atmosphere.

What would you say is the most important you have to take care of while taking "natural pictures" ? 😊

That's a great choice!
To make "natural" photos, especially on the streets, you have to be close, but unobtrusive, find that balance and have the subject be comfortable. Then you observe and wait for them to express some emotion, a gesture or interact with someone in an interesting way. Have your camera set up in advance and always be ready to press the shutter. :)

Hello @alcibiades , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is ✅ "postpromoter"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@byresteem has 25.500 Followers + 7000 Sp + Upvote with min +55 accounts.

I am a bot, I can not answer the comment. I hope I could help. Good luck.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 19:15:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 161.87/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

So great and awesome, you have a future in photography. Keep it up bro, job well done for you. God bless.

@alcibiades i wish i have ur skills

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95