🔥 🔥🔥 Man on fire 🔥 🔥🔥

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Fire Show on idyllic Koh Tao, Thailand

CamThaiLaos 390.jpg

This one is a serious trip down memory lane for me!! This goes all the way back to February 2008... God, I feel old now.. My wife (girlfriend at the time) and I spent a year traveling around the world.

CamThaiLaos 379.jpg

We were lucky enough to see Koh Tao all those years ago, and this was a night on the beach from back then. These fire jugglers were so cool, and I thought these photos were lost or buried under god knows what on a CD or chip... Then today, I was flicking through some photos of my kids from a few years ago on Google photos, and realised these were backed up too, along with some other great travel snaps from back in the day

CamThaiLaos 391.jpg

It was a mix of guys with fire sticks and fire chains... they basically have some cloth at the end, which they dip into some flammable fluid, and then spin them to make these really cool trails. They are insane to watch, but the photos came out pretty cool too, so hopefully you enjoy them :o)

Fire Stick Koh Tao.jpg

The guys doing the juggling were really sound, and weren't even collecting donations or anything, just doing it for the fun of it, and even offered to teach some of us on lookers...

CamThaiLaos 375.jpg

I tried the fire stick, but nearly set myself on fire! It was great fun though, and the buckets on the beach were A1 as well. For anyone who hasn't been to Thailand, you can buy sand castle buckets filled with whatever spirit you want (usually Samsong Whiskey), M150 (Thai equivalent of Red Bull) and coke... It's looper juice :o)

CamThaiLaos 367.jpg

The guys put on such a great show though, and the atmosphere was something else. Seeing theses photos again, really brings me back, and to any of you younger folks reading this and wondering would you travel??

YES, yes you should, it will help shape you into a more rounded person, and you are sure to have some incredible experiences, which you'll never forget. You have the rest of your life for working, settling down, buying a house and all of those things that come with getting older. If you have the opportunity, go for it.

CamThaiLaos 369.jpg

Another couple of photos from that memorable night in 2008...

CamThaiLaos 388.jpg

And one for the road.... :o)

CamThaiLaos 386.jpg
Divider.png
Hopefully you enjoyed that post.

I try to post every day, so feel free to follow me and check out some of my other posts here.

Peace Out

Ablaze 🔥

Sort:  

I love the effects that the slow shutter speed of the camera produced. The shots look absolutely awesome! I love travelling as well, I think it's the funnest thing to do. I got a severe case of wanderlust lol.

Hey, thanks for dropping by... Ya, travelling was unreal, I still get the bug, but I have three young kids and one on way, so travel will now be more along the lines of Legoland, Disneyworld etc, which is all good!! I did my travelling, and I'm so glad that I did :o)

Woah congratulations mate :D Enjoy the awesome adventures to come!

Nice one man

Congratulations @ablaze! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! Amazing photos and I am so happy for you and all of us that these photos were not lost. You were brave to try it...good for you! And you were so fortunate to be able to travel around the world for a year. What an experience. Tip!

Ah wow, thanks a million @whatisnew! I really do count myself lucky that we had the opportunity to travel, we met so many great people and experienced all sorts of cultures and experiences...

My pleasure! I love to learn about different cultures too. : )

It definitely helps round us as individuals to see how others live..

Hi @ablaze! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Pachino And Ollie At It Again Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ablaze from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67