Spring bees (including one corbiculate bee!)

in #photography6 years ago

Macro photos of bees celebrating spring on the local mountain. Bucklet list for my future lives: become a bee and taste the nectar of all flowers I can find.

The last photo shows a specie of bee with corbiculae (also called pollen baskets) on its hindleg! When I saw it I was worried it was some kind of fungal infection, but it's actually a kind of basket made of bee hair which they fill with pollen.

They are blurry because I was a bit too ambitious with the shallowness of the depth of field. This can create a nice effect but it's difficult to get a good focus on fast little insects.

Lens is a 90mm f/2.8 Tamron macro lens on a Sony alpha330 camera.

DSC04911.jpg

DSC04895.jpg

DSC04908.jpg

DSC04916.jpg

DSC04900.jpg

DSC04987.jpg

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Good bot, thanks! Do bots like bees?

Thank you a0i! You've just received an upvote of 90% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72