How To Create a Perfect White Photographic Background

Use Adobe® Camera Raw or Lightroom to create a perfect white background for cutouts!

isolated mum.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraEOS 5D Mark II
LensEF100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Exposure1/125 sec; f/13; ISO 200
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2018, Adobe Camera Raw

Assuming that you have done a fairly good job of photographing an object on a white background, here is a very simple way to perfect that background.

When you are photographing a model or a large item like a vehicle against a white background, the method of doing this is to make sure that the background is lit to be overexposed about four stops more than the subject. However, when you shoot table top items like I do, the items are sitting right on the white background, so there is no way to light the background separately from the subject matter. This means that you have to do some post-processing in Adobe® Photoshop to create a whiter background. Depending on the subject matter, this can be a bit tedious.

I have just discovered a very simple way to do this in Adobe® Camera Raw, and also in Lightroom in the Develop Module. I use Camera Raw, so I am going to show you how to do it there. I believe that the commands are identical in Lightroom, so if you are a Lightroom user you can still use this technique.

The first thing I always do in Camera Raw, is process the image, because a raw file is very flat and needs to be adjusted according to your taste in processing.
fig-1.jpg
Fig.1


Some images require more processing than others. This one just required a few tweaks as follows in Fig. 2.
fig-2.jpg
Fig.2


Once the subject matter looks the way you want it to, click on the brush tool as shown in Fig. 1. This will bring up the dialogue box in Fig. 3. Increase the exposure as shown, making sure that Auto Mask is selected.
fig-3.jpg
Fig.3


Paint around the the outside of the image with a large brush.
fig-4.jpg
Fig.4


Make the finishing touches with a smaller brush as seen in this iPhone shot of the screen showing the curser.
close up of mum on screen.jpg
Fig.5


The great thing about this technique is that the main subject is auto masked, so you can paint close to it without affecting it!
So, what are you waiting for? Let's see your perfect white backgrounds!

Check my last photography-101 post, What is stock photography?.


my banner.png

Sort:  

Great pictures and very informative. Thanks for sharing!
_ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _ - _
Want a few smiles and laughs? Check out @puddlejumper for new jokes each day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Good job showing the broad strokes, I'll definitely give this a try.

Be sure to let us see what you achieve!

A useful tut, Diane, will give it a try on some of my pics!

Have you tried it yet? It is such a time saver!

I have, for a white object though, not a white background 🙄

That will work too, but I guess without the auto masking turned on!

I had to use the automasking, to make sure the edges are selected more accurately. Even with automasking there were some hits and misses. Hope to use the photo next time in your contest :)

It is so easy. I wish I had discovered it sooner!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

I never do touch up with photos before, might be good resources for me to learn 😁

Yes, I hope so! Let me know how you get along!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54