PAST, PRESENT, FUTURE: Photo Star make-up game, the final episode of Season Two!

in #photogames6 years ago (edited)

SEASON 2 - WE’RE ON THE FINAL STRETCH!

It’s been a really fun 4 weeks of the @photogames!
We’ve had over 60 people compete and over 50 people make it onto the leaderboard.
We appreciate those who have helped run the games AND who have contributed to creating the prize pool which is up over 110 SBD.

Past_present_future.jpg

MAKE UP GAME - 306 Point Prize Pool for the Photo Stars

This week is the makeup week for those that helped run the Photogames this month: the Photo Stars who each spent a week hosting the games and were unable to score points during that week now have an opportunity to win some points to make up for the week they missed.

The Photo Stars will all be competing against each other in these three games, and the winners will be picked by guest judges:

PAST - PRESENT - FUTURE

The theme of this week is Past, Present and Future.
Two of these games are as simple as submitting a picture in the comments below.
For the final game (Future), we will want you to create a blog post and leave a link in the comments below.

1. PAST

Submit a picture that you have personally taken which represents the theme “OLD”
(You can go out and create a new picture or use one from any time in the past).

2. PRESENT

Take a new picture this week that represents the theme “NEW”
(Not one from your archives but one taken this week).

3. FUTURE

Create a blog post that talks about one of the following themes. (You are only expected to write about one theme, though you may talk about more if you desire).
Think of your audience as people who are interested in photography but may or may not know about @Photogames and Steemit.

  1. What do you see as the future of the Photogames?
  2. What do you see as the future of Steem/Steemit?
  3. What do you see as the future of the photography community on Steemit?
  4. What will help the future of Photogames? (i.e how can we make Photogames better)

Steemit-Makep-Game.gif


POINTS BREAKDOWN

GAMES 1 & 2 (PAST AND PRESENT) EACH:

20 | 15 | 10 | 8 | 6
10 HONORABLE MENTIONS: 3 pts each
Total per game = 89 pts

GAME 3:

25 | 20 | 15 | 10 | 8
10 HONORABLE MENTIONS: 5 pts each
Total = 128 pts

There were 22 photostars.
Each submission earns 1 automatic point.
(Meaning an additional 66 points are available).

HOW TO PLAY

  • Only the Photo Stars from Season 2 are eligible to win points.
  • Please post all 3 of your game submissions in one comment (if possible)
  • Everything is due on Sunday, May 6th at 6pm ET
  • The FINAL RESULTS for the entire Season 2 will then be posted
Sort:  

So everyone is waiting for someone to make a move :D if no one posts anything i could win if all the points are mine :D
All from this comment could be found on this POST, you should click it, it looks better and i would appreciate the support

OLD
well i think 700 years is old
IMG_9159 old.jpg

NEW
like my first ever "going to photograph" trip. Short one but still a trip :)
IMG_9158 new.jpg

FUTURE
What will help the future of Photogames? (i.e how can we make Photogames better)

Make posts about results. I think i am not the only one here just for the win, by playing i want to learn or just to have fun.
example: game started monday. me and someone in LA are 10 hours apart by time difference. i played all six photostars in monday and end time for game is wednesday. Now wednesday is over for me and i check all photostars for results but no one yet published as it is still wednesday for them :) then i check next morning but 3 photostars are on the road and are late.
So by the time they do their results it is friday for me or maybe even saturday. possibility of me remembering and checking out what was the f-stop on a photo from 6 days ago is close to 0. even worse is when the game is from friday and the next week photogames is like 3 games in.
So for me great thing would be if @photogames would make 1 or 2 posts with the results from that week. And i think that i am not alone in this one.

Totally with you!! : )
I'd love to see the results no matter who wins... I often try to go back too but only some have posts. Not only that it also adds to the community feel that is very much already here and as you said the learning... we're always learning from one another in some way!

The two photos below are both of buttercup wildflowers in meadows near where I live in Truckee, California. The bottom photo was shot at Kyburz Flat in May of 2003, shot with a Canon EOS3 on 35mm Fuji Velvia slide film, no lens filters were used. Velvia was a fun film to shoot, I would then take the developed slides and scan them with a 4000 dpi film scanner and bring them into photoshop to work on them. Looking back on the photo, the color balance was a bit off in my opinion but I would try to edit my images to match the colors in the slide film. It was still a decent shot and I sold many prints of that image back when I used to participate in art and craft fairs.

The top image was shot at Sagehen Meadows on May 3rd 2018, just a few days ago. It was shot on a Canon 5Dsr digital camera with a polarizing lens filter and a graduated neutral density filter. My style of shooting and editing images has definitely changed over the last 15 years and that's a good thing. I like the color balance a lot more and RAW digital images now allow me to edit with a more bright, poppy, saturated look. This type of look tends to sell a lot better at the Vista Gallery and on my website.

The types of images I shoot these days really hasn't changed much since I moved to the Tahoe area 16 years ago, but fortunately experience and technology has helped me improve a bit

_Q1A3226.jpg
Present Photo

Kyburz Flat.jpg
Past Photo

Future Post

PAST
For the make up game for #Photogames we were asked to submit something from the past/old. How about ancient? Ancient pyramids in Egypt.

Full post: https://steemit.com/photofeed/@sjarvie5/ancient-pyramids-in-egypt

NEW
We were asked to submit something Present/ New
This collage picture represents a NEW IDEA for me....that I can and should reduce my waste.

Full post: https://steemit.com/photogames/@sjarvie5/new-idea-less-waste

FUTURE
I am choosing to write about the FUTURE of photogames. Photogames is what brought me to Steemit three months ago (Feb. 5, 2018).

I started photography in high school taking a class in which we got to develop our film in the darkroom. In college I worked in the photo lab on campus and started to do wedding photography. Throughout the years I have taken many pictures of people and places (my favorite subjects). In recent years I have gotten complacent in my photography. I came to Steemit to play @photogames (as one of the co-founders is my little brother @jarvie). I now have more of a desire to go out and take pictures and share my photography. I am inspired and challenged by the games. Steemit has a great community and has been a great platform to meet people and grow as a photographer.

Additional interaction outside of Stemmit
It has been fun to see the evolution of photogames. I especially enjoyed being in a group of people being photostars together and getting to chat with each other outside of Steemit. I got to see the personalities of the people that was more than their curated posts. I would like to see this aspect continued as a part of photogames. I for one like the small groups.

Not as time consuming
This might be something that only I deal with, as a very competitive person when I play I play really hard. The amount of time I spend on Steemit playing photogrames is concerning. There are so many other things I need and want to do. I would like to have the opportunity to play, but not all the time. Or maybe I will just need to enforce self imposed breaks.

Thanks #photogames for hosting such educational, competitive, inspiring and fun games!

But how does one bring themselves away from playing #photogames?? ; )
No I totally agree, sometimes you just need to take yourself away and take that break. I've not had that feeling towards #photogames yet! :D

Your old is amazing!! But I really love your new... we have been plastic free for about 2 years now, it's a good feeling. There's still a few things we can't avoid like the bread I eat only comes in plastic etc. but overall our use would be an easy 90% down. : )

Kristy, thanks for your comment. This whole idea of no plastic is so new I would love to talk to you about it. my email is my user name at gmail. Would you mind if we chatted about your experience and what things you did, what you would have done different, what you know now?

Yes for sure!! : ) I'll have to try and remember my email password ; )
I'm heading off to bed now but I'll send you a message tomorrow!

I'm sorry I haven't got back to you yet. It has been so long since I have used my email that I have forgotten my password and can't log in. I'm getting my husband to re-set my password for me tomorrow when he as at work. Once he has done this I'll be able to message you! : ) I haven't forgotten...

No problem. I was also thinking we can connect on discord, there is a private section once you are in the group.

Yes I hear this... all the more reason why I need to be on there! ; )

I'm waiting on my new password... however... in the meantime I have written a story : )
https://steemit.com/nature/@jayclar30/going-plastic-free-and-saying-no-to-plastic

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 36,000+ followers for free if you reply to this comment. Follow @a-0-0

20180504_220051.jpg

Who wants a newly freshly baked chocolate chip cookie? This is a photo taken yesterday and represents the theme "new." Nobody likes a stale old cookie right? :)

20180505_082127.jpg

This is the old street in Jiufen in Taiwan. It is full of history because it used to be near a gold-mining town. A famous movie called City of Sadness was filmed here. A place of nostalgia, but has become commercialized as you can see in the photo.

What will help the future of Photogames?
I believe in the future of the Photogames and I want the games to succeed! Here are my 5 suggestions for the games going into the future:
https://steemit.com/photogames/@snooway/past-present-and-future-photogames-bonus-round-entry

Considering that this post is related to a photography game I decided to post pictures about the different way we used to play in the past, in the present and what I think it will be the future of this community on Steem.

Past:

For the past I selected some pictures taken lot of years ago with a film camera [...]

Past

Present

My entry for the Present theme are some of the most well known toys in the history [...]

Present

Future

This is my post with the suggestion for the Future of the games:
https://steemit.com/photogames/@asgarth/past-present-and-future-photogames-season-2-makeup-game

For 'something new' I simply picked the newest ie last taken image on my memory card. It was taken just 2 hours ago when I left the beach house of friends of mine where I celebrated a birthday. The sun was just setting and I always enjoy the golden hour light to emphasise detail I normally would overlook. In this case I noticed the blinds behind the window. Nothing crazy, just simply the newest picture I took that I can share with you.

P5051670-2_copyright_rosanne-dubbeld.jpg
[The newest picture I have on my memory card at the time of writing. Taken about 2 hours ago.]

For the 'Old' theme I decided to match that newest picture with a similar theme: windows, curtains, textures, but it would also have to be an old place, or a window from an old house. I found this in the following picture taken in an abandoned village in Belgium, definitely old, and it contains all the themes of the first picture as well.

Doel_window_copyright_rosanne-dubbeld.jpg
[Old window, old curtain, interesting textures.]

For the 'Future' I created a post about the possibilities of the communities: https://steemit.com/photogames/@soyrosa/old-new-and-a-look-into-the-future-of-the-photogames

Interesting game.

PAST

PRESENT

FUTURE

FULL POST HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89