Self-portrait - @photogames season 2, week 1

in #photogames6 years ago

IMG_20150606_142923.jpg

If you are interested in entering the @photogames self-portrait contest, you might want to check out @vmoldo’s recent post, “How to take awesome self portraits and win some SBD”. He shares some really great tips…most of which I didn’t follow with my “selfie in the mirror” shot. Yes, I know that a cell phone selfie in a mirror is the easy way out, but hey… that’s why it captures my personality.

Photography is a hobby for me, and it’s all about fun and spontaneity. Sometimes I like to plan to shoot with my DSLR, but more often than not I am taking quick shots with my phone of little details that interest me. I guess this shot sort of reflects that. It’s more about the yellow brick wall than me… just the way I like it.

Sort:  

I love the wall!! What is up with walls in this series of self portraits? :)
The legs that just got into this shot inspired me! If only I knew how to do that technically... Thanks!!

Yeah, I really love that brick wall in @bil.prag 's shot (an amazing photo by the way). There is a pipe or something embedded in the brick that really gives that wall character.

The legs in my shot belong to my wife. I was sort of waiting for her to move out of the shot, but we were in a busy art gallery, so I wanted to take it before someone else came into the stairwell. I do like the fact that she is in it...her boots at least.

i was wondering why would there be a mirror, but the art gallery part explained it :)
there is something with yellow walls in photography, i don't like them live like i like them in a photo.

The mirror in the corner of the stairwell is a bit curious, but actually it was there before this building became a gallery/artists' studio. Previously, this was an old cotton mill building, and I guess there was a safety reason for the mirror in this stairwell with a 90 degree turn. Now it is just a place for gallery hoppers a chance check hair and makeup before entering the building...and they are probably wondering why it is placed so high above their heads.

well they must have some accidents on that corner so they installed the mirror so there would be less collisions :)

I love this photograph @jctdesign and if it reflects you personality then so much the better. I'm like you. I prefer to take quick shots of things I see.

I don't have a camera so I don't have much choice about that! 😁

The only time I really miss one is when depth of field is important or I'd like to do better macro shots. Of yes and long exposure would be good too! 😂

Thanks for the heads up about @vmoldo’s recent post. I'll have to go and check that one out.

No camera definitely makes it easy. Sometimes I regret leaving my camera at home, but I always have the phone. As they say, the best camera is the one you have with you.

Ah. Very true @jctdesign. I like that one! 😍

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 19:53:52
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1994.65/3200.00
Total Photos: 87
Total comments: 115
Total contest wins: 28
And have also received a 1.45 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I just love how every rule of photography I know is broken here and yet it's still an amazing picture. Very little spoken but do much detail. Wish I can shoot something like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61833.67
ETH 2414.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57