How to take awesome self portraits and win some SBD

in #photogames7 years ago

Concept

First of all, you need a cool concept instead of just grabbing your phone and taking a selfie in the mirror, what I recommend is coming up with a concept -view this as a creative way to tell something about yourself. Think about what story do you want that photo to tell, think about the light, the colors and how they will enhance that story.

Lens

My favorite for self portraits is the 50mm lens. Since you can not adjust the framing to consider for every slight move you, the model, make you will have to go with lenses from the wider part of the spectrum to make sure you are still in the frame.

Setup

A remote camera trigger and a tripod are your best friends since you are both the model and the subject of this photo, but don't hesitate to prop your camera on a shelf or to use the timer on your camera for this if you don't have a remote. One trick I started to use recently is using an app on my phone and a 5 meter cable to connect my camera to said phone in order to see what the camera is seen and modify setting without having to make 100 trips to the tripod. It is basically like shooting theater but on my phone not on my pc.

Light

I think self-portraits are the best way to experiment with lights since there is no client/crew/model so you won’t waste anybody's time. You can spend all the time you want experimenting, testing light setups and learning

Autofocus

I have 2 tips for you to make sure you are in focus and the image is sharp.

  • close down the aperture a bit and just go with something approximative.
  • or switch your camera to live view and use the face tracking - this works wonders and nobody has to babysit the camera

Case study

Can you spot anything in the smoke?!
10922820_951130988252270_6499675322311389058_n.jpg
click the photo for better res

Years ago when shooting this, I envision myself as a jazz player with a crush on a ballerina enjoying a smoke after a concert and dreaming of her while looking at the smoke. So I dressed accordingly, bought a pipe and started experimenting with the smoke coming out of it. Decided to add colored gels into the mix so I can get a better definition of the smoke shapes and then use photoshop to create a dancing ballerina in the smoke. So, in the end, the photo has both an easter egg hidden in it and a love story.

Photogames - SELF PORTRAIT ASSIGNMENT

In this game, I am looking for creative work. I want you to go crazy. The sky is the limit. So my recommendation is to go for bold colors, creative props, and techniques. Tell me a story with that photo. Make me say WOOOOW.

PHOTOGAMES INFORMATION LINKS

Please follow the photostars for week 1 to stay up to date and keep an eye on @photogames especially to see the updated leaderboards and to play Game 2. Reshare this WEEK 1 announcement post. Also we're really excited season two prize pool is now over 100SBD.

Sort:  

Good Looking Lad I say, very well I may participate.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.20 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.04
Server time: 21:56:37
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 524.40/800.00
Total Photos: 50
Total comments: 15
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Awesome post, very helpful. Do you have tips for what to use as a light source if you don't have special gear?

I usually use my smartphone flashlight :D

Natural light/ Window light is always a great option. Also when I started out I would use normal bulbs hang around.

Like Matt said, if you're in the dark, a bright LED flashlight is a great light to use - it's not bright like a strobe, but it's easy to position and modify.

I have to disagree at some point because when you always try to plan everything you can literally kill the spontaneity and sometimes when you shoot
spontaneously you can do really cool stuff. In my opinion the creativity doesn't come when you sit and think about it. It's like BOOM and you got this, you know what to do. One single idea.

But on the other hand I agree with you that having a concept is necessary to tell a clear story. Not good, but clear to understand. Why did I said "not good?" Because every story can be good depending on how you explain it to your audience so that's why you need a good concept of it, so people can understand it without a problem. Same with colours, lighting etc. it increase fullness of your story when everything match together.

and one simple question- why the smoke isn't shaped into unicorn?! :D

Let's a agree do disagree on the spontaneity part. I am the kind who plans and overthinks
As for the concept, I love it when a photo tells the story without any caption.

I agree that photo should tell the story without any caption, but do you think that you need always need a plan to do that kind of photo? :D

It's definitely not a must but it helps

One thing that I noticed is that sometimes I go into a photoshoot without any plan and just relay on my experience to get awesome images. But when it comes to self portraits I plan everything

and how about this one? does it tell a story without a caption? maybe it's not self portrait but still there are people on the photo :D

DQmRP5GHEpLcxBYowi7u8oRV4SSjNQj7gQxHxwMWigmYWZ1_1680x8400.jpeg

I like your side assignment.

I hope to have my mind blown away but the participants

Great advice Vlad.

Great info and awesome photo @vmoldo! Making us bring our A-game to the selfie...

Exactly, inspire people to take better selfies, thats what I hope to achieve.

Nice project! Thanks for tips and tricks, U did a good job.

Thanks. Hope to see a great post from you

Definitely gonna try this one out. Wasn't really a fan of selfies but I especially like the part of wasting nobody elses time. I wish you good light!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61766.31
ETH 2428.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64