Guess the Shutter-speed - Photo Games Week #2 Day 1 - By @jarvie

in #photogames6 years ago

Metadata Monday - Guess the shutter speed!!

Week 2 - Season 1 - Day 1
click to view large

ABOUT THE PHOTO


This is a section of the Shoshonee falls in Idaho

THE PRIZE

  • PUBLIC PRIZE POOL = 1 SBD / each Photo Game Star -- Total Prize Pot = 5 SBD
  • If only one person gets the correct (or closest) answer they will win full prize pool
  • If multiple people guess correctly (tie for 1st): 60% to first person / 40% divided between the next 5 people

RULES FOR PUBLIC

  • For this game you have 2 days to guess (Wednesday 6PM EST / 11PM UTC)
  • The closest guess will win the prize!
  • Only one guess per person, per post.
  • No editing your guess - you have to commit!
  • All metadata has been stripped from the pictures, so don’t bother looking for the EXIF!
  • We are not required to tell you what kind of camera was used, or what time of day the photo was taken at, or whether filters were involved (this adds to the mystery and the challenge!).

WE HAVE A NEW ACCOUNT
Follow and read about each photo game over on @photogames
https://steemit.com/photogames/@photogames/metadata-monday-photo-games-week-2-day-1

WHAT ARE THE PHOTO GAMES?
Read more about them here
Follow @photogames and check out great posts on #photogames

Sort:  

The physics teacher in me says 2.5 seconds

i'll go with the physics teacher this time even if my instincts are for double that time

Physics Teacher: A Tale of Science and Debauchery (The aweber Story)

Coming soon to your local Blockbuster

My guess is 10 seconds.

I'll guess 6 seconds.

the left part seems more blurred, mmmmm difficult but I'm going to say 1/1.3 seconds

I guess 1/4s.

Not so silky; I guess 0.4 seconds.

I think you're right on!

@yumymseth You were the closest PhotoStar competitor. So you get the bragging point from me. haha

well done

and @intrepidphotos ... so close... but I'm still impressed with your skills.

wait what is that... 1/25th?

Or is that 4/10 or 1/2.5

Basically i need this as a typical fraction... because I'm not sure how to change normal stop watch time into shutter speed. haha

Oh i went online to search how to convert stop watch type time into shutter speed. Seem

"Shutter speeds are measured in seconds, or fractions of a second. For example, a shutter speed of 1/100 means 1/100th of a second, or 0.01 seconds. This is also known as the "exposure time", because it's the amount of time the sensor is exposed to light."

So by that it seems like it's 4/10 which is 1/2.5
Is that how you understand it??

0.3 seconds

OK the answer was 1/3 which if I do a google search = .333333

Regardless you're still the closest. Next time I'll know how to convert this or i'll tell people to just use fractions. haha

So that makes you the winner!!

Haha, awesome! :) I appreciate you trying to get clarity on this!

What does this mean in shutter speed?

err.. 0.3 sec?

Because 3/10th is not a shutter speed that's on a normal camera. Digital cameras could probably do that like cell phones.

Is 3/10th what you meant by that. Because I looked it up on google and people say .3 = 3/10th

I see.. Thanks for looking it up! I was going to do that too, because you made me curious.. I have several photos of waterfalls where the photo info says 0.3.. so I went with that. :)

I understand it to mean like 1/3 of a second, no? Which sounds right to me

shows like this: Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 2.10.41 PM.png

Does that show up as 1/3 anywhere else?

I recognize that some cameras don't have the normal f/stop system. Such as phones and other cameras that don't even have shutters.

I did some more and 1/3 seems like it would be .3333333 seconds. haha

My guess: 1/5 (half) seconds.

I guess 1 second

I have a feeling you may be correct...I'll back your guess!

Mmmm 3 seconds ^^

Ditto, because 3 is the magic number

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52