Little Old House in the Bush

in #photofriend6 years ago (edited)

This house is beside the trail leading to Killarney Lake on Bowen Island. When I come across an abandoned home like this I can't help but wonder what the history is. This structure looks typical of the type built shortly after the second world war.

Sony a6000 ~ 23mm ~ f/5.6 ~ 1/50 sec ~ ISO100

DSC09055.jpeg

Was it built for a newlywed couple? Did they raise a family in the home? How did they make their living? Perhaps it was built as a cottage, Snug Cove was a popular holiday destination with dances on the weekends. It's kinda nice to let the mind wander, the possibilities are endless.

Thanks for viewing my post.

Sort:  

Looks like a spooky horror house!

Thanks for your comment and support. It is kinda creepy.

Oohhh cool! I love knowing/imagining the history of a house. Looks like this one's got some stories to tell

Thanks for coming by, appreciate your support and comments.

Well taken photo mate, i wonder what happened that left places like this abandoned.

Thanks for your support my friend. It's hard to say really, could be a lack of work, it's hard to make a living on these small islands with no real industry.

Thanks for your comment and support.

I like to go inside and ( as my grandma use to it) plonder it. To my experience there is always something left behind that tries to tell a story for anyone who is listening. Out buildings and barns are also great source to plonder.

Thanks for the comment and support. I didn't go in, just enjoyed it from the outside.

I like your post and I think it is valuable for the photo community on Steemit!
@photofriend upvoted you! (Upvotes this week: 1 / What is the hash-tag race?
@photofriend - Supporting original photography on Steemit and fight against plagiarism.

Thanks for your support. I look forward to seeing your blog grow.

Thank you! You were one of my first followers and I appreciate your continuous support very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57