Alum Creek Hike

in #photofeed7 years ago

Yesterday was a holiday for me due to Martin Luther King Jr. Day, so I enjoyed a relaxing morning at home, then decided to get some exercise and go for a hike. I went up to Alum Creek State Park, which is on the north side of Columbus, and enjoyed a nice 5 mile hike mostly along the edge of Alum Creek Lake. As I was hiking there was a constant supply of fresh snow drifting down from the sky and it made the entire hike incredibly peaceful and beautiful. Even though I was within half a mile of housing developments all throughout my hike, the falling snow and thick trees made it feel like I was in my own little world

I had my camera along, but only stopped a couple times to take it out of my backpack and snap some pictures. I mostly just tried to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and the sounds of nature all around me. It's easy for me to be constantly thinking about what I can take pictures of around me rather than appreciating the moment for what it is, so sometimes I just try to forget about taking pictures and focus on living on the moment.

If you happen to be interested in seeing the route that I hiked, you can do so here:

https://www.strava.com/activities/1359123095

And here are a couple pictures looking out onto the snowy lake.

Leany Tree
edit-8786 8.jpg

Stranded Buoy
edit-8794.jpg

Sort:  

Since you don’t post bad pictures, I pretty much am always here telling you how much I like what you post, and it’s true again. These really capture the quiet, calm side of winter. It’s the season of stillness, and there’s something powerful in that quiet that I feel from both these photos, although I’m more drawn to the trees.

You're too kind, I don't mind hearing it ;)

Thanks man, I definitely had that feeling while I was there in person. Glad I was able to communicate it a bit!

The Leany Tree photo is absolutely gorgeous. All the white space and the trees on the left - really perfect composition!

Thanks! You're too kind :)

Super nice photo with the trees! I just had to click on your post to see what's about :)
I am also in America and had the day off yesterday. But instead I had the complete opposite experience. I went shopping in typical malls and outlet stores to try and find good warm hiking shoes and coat. Even though the day felt like a complete waste of time, I am excited to put my new gear to use next week in Utah! Hopefully I will be able to post an experience like yours soon! :)

Thanks, appreciate it!

Haha, while that's not my favorite way to spend a day, it's definitely a worthwhile investment in the future! I'd love to go Utah sometime, haven't made it there yet though. Are you camping?

Love the lakes at this time of year. Lots of them up here in Canada.

I have one & only dream in my life, is that I live my life in a snowy cold place.
(India is too hot 🔥and I belong to India)

Sorry for bad English

Hope you get to do that someday! Watch out, it's pretty cold sometime :)

Thank you sir @yumyumseth for replying,
I'm just waiting for that day.

Glad you enjoyed some peaceful moments. :) Having screens (iphones, ipads, or even our cameras!) always present somehow steals our joy away...as they feed the need to snap a pic and share.

Though I appreciate what technology affords us, it is truly something special when we can breathe in a deep fresh of clean air and enjoy the view.

~Cheers

Totally agree! Technology is amazing, but needs to be used in moderation.

That Leany Tree picture is amazing. Its all natural yet blak and white. So surreal

I like the 1st picture a lot! Very nice work Seth! Congratulations

The first photo is incredible. I love the stark contrasts and the shadowy background that suggests more land. Very peaceful.

Thank you so much :) There's land back there somewhere!

Yeah, sometimes we have to forget about all the worries and focus on the present moment. I as well think about taking pictures when I'm out in beautiful nature, but it's important to enjoy the present moment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13