Fairy Garden - Tasmanian Dreaming

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

B32F325C-D387-4D68-9D5C-DBF9FB039F93.jpeg

Hey Friends! How are you tonight? Have you ever felt so connected to a land that your heart still belongs there even if your life doesnt belong there anymore?

I grew up in Tasmania, moving to Adelaide 10 years ago to marry my love. I didn’t miss Tasmania for years but as time grows, so does the ache in my heart. Our beautiful network of friends and support is here but oh how my soul knows that my land and my culture is in Tassie. The people, the landscape, the wood fires and polar fleece head warmers, the wilderness, the markets, the wine and cheese, the tree-hugging-thermal-wearing goodness of it all.

A691FA5D-A3E4-4B94-BD1D-5A631452CCD4.jpeg

I miss the mountains and the snow, the harshness of the sun and the heaviness of the rain, the hiking boots and hippie pants, the clean air and pure water.

But I also miss family. I took these photos in January in my cousin’s garden...her veggie, fruit and fairy garden on her 23acres of wilderness. I look at these photos and let the nostalgia flow. The berry-picking, the geese, the smell of rainforest and the bitter cold nights (yes even in January!). These photos remind me of a love that I know will always be there for me when I visit and if I ever return to my land.

9F3D406B-2671-4898-8FA1-808DCD34C904.jpeg

AECC0569-02F0-4B69-86C8-4BC0DB1F25CA.jpeg

So as I sip my matcha chai tea and reminisce I can also be thankful for my roots and my connection. I am thankful that I can bring a bit of Tassie into my Adelaide home and fill my house and garden with little treasures and memories. I can turn my own garden into a little piece of paradise and my kitchen into the warming heart of the home.

Thankyou Tassie for all your goodness and thankYOU for reading 😁

Peace!
Jessi 🍂

Sort:  

Wonderful story and beautiful pictures. I found you on the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @bengy. Congratulations.

Thankyou very much :)

Some friends of ours moved Tassie. She struggled with the heat here, so they were ecstatic to have snow! We miss them lots. Must try to visit one day...

Yes do visit!! It’s beautiful :) And yes I havn’t gotten used to the heat here....I’ve definitely climatized to winter and now think that the Adelaide winter is cold (😆) but I really really dislike the heat over summer...🌞

I can definitely relate to this, I grew up in the harsh out back for a good chunk of my childhood and my heart always longs to go back there.
Maybe you should plan to move back there when you retire :)

Yes!! That would be perfection!!!

Some very lovely wildflower photos. Home is always there, sometime we can go back sometimes we can't ut we always carry it in our hearts. I found you post via @bengy's entry into the :Pay It Forward" contest.

Thankyou so much for your comment and for stopping by! And thanks @bengy for nominating me 😊🙌🌿💗

I now live in Europe, and I do miss the unique colours of Australia. Somehow, the greens are different and especially in the Netherlands the colours are just not as vibrant!

I have also featured you (and this post) for a curation contest run by @thedarkhorse.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-7-entry

Thankyou so much! :)

It’s quite indescribable...that pull of the heart to the colours and scents and memories of what is home!

@bengy featured you in the Pay It Forward curation contest week 7 . This is what brought me to your post

Thankyou for stopping by! :-)

How clear are the rivers?
I've only ever known the Murray; so being able to see to the bottom is so refreshing.

Yes!! But not the River Derwent where I grew up...but most of the state is pristine and heavenly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.77
ETH 2736.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60