Planning For The Perfect Shoot – Better Landscape Photography #1

in #photofeed7 years ago

Planning For The Perfect Shoot – Better Landscape Photography #1


You may have seem some of @skypilots posts here on Steemit, recently he’s just finished a series about exploring the American wilderness by plane. For someone who’s not particularly keen on flying it was fascinating seeing his incredible viewpoint from the sky, but what really sparked my interest was the planning that goes into each flight. Last year I did the course to get my Drone Pilots License here in the UK, I was stunned at just how much planning had to go into flying this small consumer grade drone. Ok, so the dudes who ran my course were a bit OTT with the precautions, it was like a little taster to the world of flying.

If the heights didn’t put me off the planning definitely would

Don’t get me wrong, I have massive respect for people that can organise themselves properly and plan out that kind of thing, but I’m not one for details. I suppose then it seems a little counter-intuitive to put out a post entitled ‘Planning For The Perfect Shoot’. The good news is – as you’ve probably already guessed – it’s not going to be the kind of planning you’d do to make a flight plan. Just the kind of planning everyone can do to improve their chances of coming away with that perfect shot!

aperture (2 of 5).jpg

Don’t Shoot Blind


In an ideal world we would live right next to all of the incredible sights we want to photograph, for some of you that may well be a reality! For most of us however epic landscapes are a little harder to come by, and the idea of revisiting our perfect spots is tricky at best. My favourite spot is a place @vtravels and I discovered on our honeymoon a little over 5 years ago. We were in the Lake District, 2 hours from home and somehow stumbled upon a spectacular location, another 2 hours into the Lakes. 4 hours by car makes the location a little tricky to get to as the best of times, even when we’re staying in the Lakes it’s an early start to catch Sunrise. Still, if you’re a real landscape enthusiast it’s worth making a note of the locations near you that you love.

Patience is our friend in photography, sometimes we find a spot that looks incredible but it’s important to stand back and look at each shot, could it have been taken at a better time? If not, could the conditions have been better? If the answer is yes, then spend some time looking into exactly what conditions and time of day you’ll need to create that epic shot that your location has the potential to produce. Once you’ve identified when you need to shoot, try to check the weather regularly until you find a day where everything lines up – you are free to shoot, and the weather’s playing ball!

IMG_3445.jpg

Start Simple


Ok, so I’ve already mentioned that most of us don’t live in an ideal world where our favourite spots are on our doorstep. Whenever we go away I try to plan in some Landscape photography to make the most of the trip (and stock up on some all important Steemit content!) by planning out my locations as best I can.

Don’t get me wrong, whenever we go on shoots we’ll drive around with our eyes peeled for any epic landscapes or incredible locations we might come across. No matter where we’re shooting, or how much driving around we plan on doing, we’ll always pre-plan one or two locations (Top Tip – One of them should ALWAYS involve a café stop for a full English or some cake!). As an example, our plan for last weeks day out in the lakes was as follows:

0645 - Leave apartment for Tarn Hows

0755 - Sunrise at Tarn Hows

UNKNOWN TIME – Breakfast at Coniston Water

Pretty basic right? It’s not a lot, but we knew we wanted sunrise at a great location and – as I was involved in the planning – food is always on my mind! As it happened we spent around 2 hours at Tarn Hows for sunrise, followed by a 45-60 minute drive to Coniston (a 10 minute journey delayed by constant stopping to get photos). We decided not to take photos at Coniston and instead meandered our way back to the apartment spending another hour or three stopping to take photos when we came across locations we liked. Oh, and some night time photos in the evening of course!

_standing firmer (1 of 1).jpg

Location Scouting


If you’re not able to scout locations in person, never fear, we live in a pretty incredible time where the whole world is right at our fingertips. Hell, if the dude from Lion can find his village in India on Google Maps there’s a lot we can learn from satellite imagery!

When I’m planning a landscape shoot I usually like to include water, so that’s pretty easy to spot from Google maps. We can go even further, it’s easy to look at how far you’ll have to walk, how easy the terrain will be to cross and even what the shoreline looks like. Personally I always look out for rocky outcrops or something that provides a little foreground interest.

Sometimes it’s even easier than that, just search for your location and see what comes up. I’m not talking about looking for a shot to copy, the opposite in fact. If you go online and see a shot to copy and post online could I ask you do us all a favour and STOP! Seriously, someone probably worked hard for that shot once upon a time, and by reproducing your favourite landscape shots you are only diluting the photography talent pool! What you can do is look for what NOT to get, what angle HASN’T been done before and what elements of the landscape haven’t been explored yet?

buttermeresunrise (1 of 1).jpg

Know Your Light Source


I’ve said this tip before but it really is crucial. Think about WHERE the sun should be in your images, is your location prime for sunRISE or sunSET? Obviously you could choose to shoot at another time of day but come on, can you really top golden hour? I’m kidding of course, there’s plenty of reasons neither sunrise nor sunset might be ideal, it may be the shadows they produce don’t work for your image, it might just be that you want that classic mid-day sky!

Personally I plan every shoot out around the movement of the sun and always consult http://suncalc.net/ for the best idea of where the sun will be and at what time. The only downside to Suncalc is that a lot of my landscapes involve hills or mountains, so trying to work out when the suns elevation will be high enough to clear the hills can be tricky! My advice would be that if Suncalc puts your ideal shooting time at 6PM, plan to shoot from 5PM-7PM! It’s amazing how many awesome shots you capture either side of sunrise/sunset!

_skie's on fire (1 of 1).jpg

Keep An Eye On The Weather [Then Ignore It]


Weather plays a pretty crucial part in what we do as landscape photographers. It can make or break a shot, so finding an accurate weather forecast that you trust can save you hours of wasted travel and chilly fingers. Here in the UK I tend to use Met Office and it’s fairly reliable, being on an island isn’t great for weather forecasts!

The way I approach weather depends on where I am and why I’m shooting. If I’m at home, just on a week to week basis we’ll make a real effort to hear out if the weather looks like it’s going to be awesome, but not bother if the forecast looks bad. If we’re on holiday, we look to see when’s likely to be best, but usually head out regardless! I can’t tell you how many times we’ve been at home having read a pessimistic forecast, only to look out of the window and see an epic break in the clouds. Trust me, if you’re in an epic location, it’s worth the risk! The worst that could happen is you head out there, wait around for half an hour and head back!

IMG_3266.jpg

Aurora Watch


I guess this one’s more Astrophotography than Landscape, but hey, if you’re taking Landscape shots I’d hazard a guess that an Aurora sighting wouldn’t exactly be a bad thing! Here in the UK we have ‘https://aurora-alerts.uk/’ that will actually notify you of any aurora activity in your area. I’m not sure what services are available for the rest of the world but I’d hazard a guess that for most of you in the Northern Hemisphere there will be something similar available!

When it comes to Aurora alerts they don’t happen to often for us here in Yorkshire, but every so often we do see activity near us. This is really a case of being ready to go at a moments notice! Obviously it’s always a case of the weather playing ball and the photography gods smiling on you and we’ve yet to capture them close by. That said @vtravels parents have just moved to the remote West Coast of Scotland so something tells me we’ll be seeing them pretty soon!

10329791_10153461088748368_1536686453772819760_o.jpg

Kit List


Most of the time I like to keep my kit bag pretty organised (about the only thing in life that I do keep organised) and ready to go at a moments notice. Obviously what you bring for your shoots will vary but it’s worth thinking about what you ‘need’ and what the travel requirements of your shoot are. If you’re driving straight to your location then why not stock up the car with everything you could need? If you’re hiking up a mountain for an epic viewpoint then maybe a cut down approach to kit would be a sensible way to go!

In terms of camera gear I’ll always pack something along the lines of:

Canon 6D + 17-40mm and/or 14mm 2.8 along with my ND filters and adapters

An Olympus E-M10 II + 14-40 and 40-150mm lenses.

Tripod

And that’s the basics! I like to carry my Olympus so I can capture anything that catches my eye while the Canon is getting longer exposures, or just to save me taking my ND filters on and off every time something catches my eye. I used to just head out with a 6D and a wide angle, but I’d miss so many shots I wanted to get. Then I started packing my 24-70 or something similar but that involved changing lenses and removing ND filter adapters etc. Two 6Ds with two pro lenses just gets a bit heavy!

_goldenhour2 (1 of 1).jpg

The Important Stuff


So many times I’ve headed out of the door with the setup I’ve described above, and so many times I’ve had a less than enjoyable shoot! Now we actually stock up our car so we’re always that little bit more prepared! In the car we always keep:


Wellies (I’m actually ordering some Waders this week to really up my game!)


A hardwearing outdoor picnic blanket for something to sit on


Bottles of water


Warm Blankets


A first aid kit


Ok, so the first aid kit is useful just in case, but the rest just make a shoot more enjoyable! We also always try to pack gloves, thermos flasks with tea/hot chocolate, mobile phones (and power packs in case we run out of battery!), snacks/food and of course some money for the all important café/cake stop!

file-3c.jpeg

Easy As 1,2,3


1 – WHERE - Scout your location either in person or online. Try to plan out at least one key location, even if you like to be free and easy!
2 – WHEN - Have you picked the best time of day? Do you know where the sun is going to be?
3 – WHAT - I’m only really using ‘What’ for snappy alliteration reasons. I just mean ‘what’ are you bringing? Everyone hate’s that feeling of knowing you’ve left the right lens at home. Almost as much as we hate that feeling of a rumbling tummy and chilly hands as you’re witnessing an epic sunrise 45 minutes from the car!

IMG_3265.jpg

Don’t Worry About Others!


Ok, so as much as I’d hate to think that the hours I put into posts like this goes to waste it’s important to point out that nobody should be dictating how or why you shoot. If you’re lucky you’ll find people who’s advice you trust and who’s mistakes you can learn from, but the truth is there’s some mistakes we all need to make for ourselves! 99% of my life is incredibly disorganised, I’m extremely lucky to have a friggin amazing wife who not only puts up with that, but helps me do just about anything involving prior preparation! I totally understand that organising and planning a shoot isn’t for everyone and that’s absolutely ok!

I’ve taken plenty of [what I think are] awesome shots, without any prior planning! However, most of my successful shoots have been the ones where I’ve actually put in the effort and planned them out. I’m talking about shoots where I come back with lots of shots I like instead of just the one!

Whether you follow this guide to the letter, take out a few key points, or ignore it completely, just make sure you enjoy what you’re doing and don’t worry too much about what anyone else says! The photography industry can be an amazing, nurturing place. It can also be an awful place where people tear down others work to try and elevate their own. Most of the time, if someone’s saying something you’re not too keen on, you’re best to just ignore it and carry on working in your own way!

meandering river (1 of 1).jpg

Just Shoot!


If you can take just a few useful points from this post then I’ll be happy, personally these are all things I’ve done that have improved my chance of success when it comes to landscape photography. One thing I would say is that HOPEFULLY these tips will help you come away with multiple photos you love. But every single time you go out to shoot just remember that if you can come away with just one solitary image that you’re proud of, then you’re winning! Enjoy it, take the win! Good or bad use every shoot to improve the next!

Thanks for reading, and good luck with your next shoot!

All Images are mine and copyright belongs to me.

Please RESTEEM if you like my work.

Please Upvote my work to help support my content on Steemit

Sort:  

Look amazing ! Thanks for sharing with us ! Upvoted from @chanthasam

Wow !! Great article, you really put some time into this. . Living in the UK can be a bind when it comes to the weather and doing any outdoor photography, I really get you with that. Some great pics, I really like the blueish one with the mountains in the background. I like the idea of putting a smaller camera in your bag for ease of use, I often miss shots due to the hassle of changing lenses in the dark or cold of the weather. Are any of the photos taken with a drone, and are you finding the quality to be OK? I've just bought a Phantom 4 pro plus, and although it's good quality , it doesn't really compare to my camera. I'm with you on the water thing, it really adds to a photo.

Thanks for the kind words! I'll be honest, I never used the drone much for photography, I had a p4p too and I was actually really impressed with the images. Unfortunately it's always going to be more suited to social media posting, that's my big hangup with it. I wasn't using it much so sold it last year when someone offered me a good price on it, I'll probably pick another up this year but I'm thinking either something super small like the Spark or go full on and get a Hex with a Micro 4/3rds camera attached. All or nothing! The Spark will be just as good for social media photos, and the Hex would be good for anything. To me the P4P is amazing for video, but the photos still aren't good enough for stock photography or prints, so not worth it if you're looking from a photography point of view!

Yer, you should look at the New Mavic air if it's in your budget. I think the Spark is cool, but has a few issues. Now that I have hours of footage, learning to use Premiere Pro has been a huge task, but I'm happy to learn video editing, a useful skill.

Looking forwards to more of your pics and posts.

Thanks! Yeah, I thought about that, I need to compare the stills really, the Spark actually looks to outperform the Mavic Pro in terms of stills alone and it's so damn cheap at the moment!

Thanks :) Really appreciate the support!

Dropped a vote. Deserves way more than I can give matey. (i dropped you a message on Discord)

Thanks dude! Really appreciate that coming from you bud :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.29
Server time: 18:31:56
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1987.57/3200.00
Total Photos: 92
Total comments: 316
Total contest wins: 27
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Excellent article!

Thanks! Much appreciated!

Wow, huge post!! I've read only the first half, but saved for later ;)

Thanks dude! I like to go big or go home ;)

In the meanwhile I've finished the post, great work ;)

I love how you took the time to write this. My favorite image is the one under Keep An Eye On The Weather.

I've found for best results (at least for me) it to go out shooting by myself. Either I feel bad for whomever I brought with me and end up chatting too much, or if I'm with a fellow photographer - I end up chatting anyway. LOL

Thanks bud! I actually really enjoy the writing side of things so it's a partly selfish endeavor!

That's true, I like going out with V because she takes photos too but not Landscapes and she can control the dog!! But I'm not keen on heading out with togs really, two people with a wide angle and an epic landscape aren't going to get much variety!

I hear ya - sometimes it's also good to go out with a telephoto lens to mix things up a bit.

the places you discover are really perfect! My wife and I do not have much time to visit.
I still believe that I should create more time when I see such places.
You're a very successful photographer in long exposures. congratulations, Chris

Thanks! I need to go exploring more really! Maybe this weekend we can find somewhere new and exciting! You are a fantastic photographer too! There's still plenty of time to go and explore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76