The Grand Tetons

in #photofeed6 years ago

This summer while at my mom's house I found my baby book. There was a section called "My Visits and Trips" and I learned that my 6th trip, when I was 8 months old, was to Yellowstone and Grand Tetons.

In May 2014 I went to Jackson for a work conference, I know how lucky. A a couple of friends came up to explore Yellowstone and the Tetons for a week afterwards. Do you think your heart can remember? I felt like I was connected to the place in a way I hadn't felt before. I felt alive with the beauty and world around me.

Yellowstone

Tetons

From Mormon Row...thanks for walking into the picture bison


Channeling my Ansel Adams


Oxbow at sunset

What an amazing trip. I loved every minute of it.

So when my nephew was getting married in October 2017 I talked to @jarvie about flying into Salt Lake and we would drive to Idaho via Jackson, Wyoming. I am so glad we did. That same feeling of "at homeness" and awe permeated my trip. I love the snow and to get the fall colors and snow together were magical.


Choosing one picture of a place I feel so connected to was a hard choice . This one brings all the elements of the Tetons and my feelings for it together.

Sort:  

I love the Tetons and Yellowstone! It's cool you got to go there when you were 8 months old, but I bet you don't remember much!

Yes, I don't remember from 8 months old, it seemed like my heart knew the place. It was fun learn that I had been there before my first trip as an adult.

AWESOME and well deserved CURIE vote. Though I thought for sure that WAVE story would get the Curie vote.

Amazing photos - like atmospheric paintings...

Thanks so much.

Wow what a great surprise. Thanks to all, especially @hendrikdegrote, for the generous vote and recognition.

What beautiful photos and what a cool story that you visited as a baby! Really hard to pick a favorite here but the second picture (shot of the sulfur pool) and the inner Ansel Adams shot both really speak to me. These are all great compositions though. Great selection to tell the story of the land.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your posting.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the current Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)

Hi Carl,
Yes, I would be happy to be on the showcase, thank you. You can use the quote below.

I started photography in high school taking a class in which we got to develop our film in the darkroom. In college I worked in the photo lab on campus and started to do wedding photography. Throughout the years I have taken many pictures of people and places (my favorite subjects). In recent years I have gotten complacent in my photography. I came to Steemit to play @photogames (as one of the co-founders is my little brother @jarvie). My desire to photograph and share my photography is back. I am inspired and challenged by the games. Steemit has a great community and has been a great platform to grow as a photographer.

Hi @sjarvie5 ,

The new Curie Author Showcase which features this post is up and ready for viewing.

Thanks for creating great content!
Gene (@curie curator)

Thank you so much. What an honor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68897.34
ETH 3759.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44