Of Sunrise, Mountains, and Overcoming Fears

in #photofeed6 years ago

Sometimes discovering new things and experiencing something amazing requires getting over one's fears. That was the case for me last week when I visited the Rockies in Colorado.

I had decided beforehand that I would be up in the mountains for sunrise and sunset each day. In the evenings there were more cars driving up and down in the park, but at 6:30 am I would spot one, maybe two other cars. The sense of isolation in a new place and in a completely new type of environment was slightly unnerving for me given some of my background and my very limited knowledge of potential dangers, so the most I managed was to stay close to the car. I knew the black bears had already been spotted in town, and I had no real awareness of what their presence entails (so much so that on the first day when I drove up I left my car doors open with my turkey sandwiches on the passenger's seat. :P I learned better by the next day though!) so I didn't want to take any risks by venturing on trails at that hour. I basically drove through the mountains chasing the light and looking for something beautiful.

Witnessing the morning light literally painting the landscape in different colors that changed almost by the minute was absolutely fascinating. In the end, the incredible scenery enveloped me and I almost forgot about my fears. I was caught into the moment, absorbed by that beauty so deeply and fully immersed in the feeling of solitude I now embraced. This morning and the scene remained imprinted in my mind as a very special memory.

I had tears in my eyes as I drove away from Estes Park. I just wasn't ready to let go of the awe-inspiring beauty I experienced. I thought visiting Colorado would be a good nature fix, but I found myself craving for more nature the more time I spent there. Have you had a similar experience in nature? What do you think makes our souls crave for it? Is there any particular place where you feel most connected with nature?

IMG_7830 ACA (2) copy.jpg@ 2018 ACA Photography. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 04:41:02
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1836.06/3200.00
Total Photos: 87
Total comments: 87
Total contest wins: 29
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That's just marvelous! Lovely part of the world. Good photo, too. :)

It exactly looked like a painting @shadalene. I feel delighted whenever I came across grenery and flowers. Nature has gifted us so many things with no charge. Your this picture proved it the best. Thanks for sharing the amazing part of nature.

Thank you! Yes, indeed, and we don't often appreciate the free gifts of nature..

I always feel the same everytime I hike on the Dolomites. Often I must stop and stare at the beauty all around and breathe deeply and I feel totally connected to everything around me. Best feeling ever!

Oh, the Dolomites!! I have made concrete plans to visit the Alps this summer, and my itinerary includes five days in the Dolomites - definitely the highlight! I hope nothing will hinder the coming true of this dream because from photos and videos that is an incredible area.

Lovely photo! Good on you for overcoming your fears and falling into the beauty that nature provides. I've spent lots of time in the bush and only come across bears a few times. I'm sure they've seen me many more times and made a retreat. Thanks for posting.

Thank you for your comment, @loneranger! That's good to know, especially since I plan to spend more time in the mountains.

Dang this shot is killer. "I basically drove through the mountains chasing the light and looking for something beautiful." Love this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31