Nature Breaking Through

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians, today I'm posting some finds from my architectural adventures to a couple of my site visits. Being an architectural draftsman gives me the chance to visit various properties/sites for work. Whether it's a measure-up (I sketch out houses/buildings and document dimensions to transfer to computer programs) of a huge 1-Family house in the middle of suburban nowhere or an apartment building in the middle of the city, I often have the opportunity to take much more from the visit.

I'm calling this post Nature Breaking Through, as sometimes when I visit properties for work, I'll catch a glimpse of  nature over time, taking back.

In these first two photos, I am showing a 2-Family house I visited that had been gutted maybe years prior and had severe water damage throughout the house from being exposed to the elements. A lot of times I will visit properties like this to call out damaged joists/structure based off of what I see. I am not sure how long this house had been vacant, but I enjoy catching glimpses like these of moss growing and spreading through these houses turned ruins.




In these last two photos, I visited an old apartment building and after finding one of the basement exits to outside, I had to reach for my phone and take a picture of this tree right up the stairs. A lot of times in the city I'll see trees uprooting sidewalks, driveways, concrete patios, or even catch trees growing around fences, nature truly taking over or shoving out of the way. 

 


This tree could have grown from a small twig of a tree, maybe fifty or even a hundred plus years ago for all I know, into this gluttonous tree, blocking the path, shoving the top stair out of its way and reclaiming nature's territory. When I catch glimpses like these stairs and block around it, cracked and eroded over time by water, wind, and nature always tend to think of those videos that show what would happen if humans disappeared or movies where cities in the future become ruins and nature takes its place.


Photos were taken with an HTC One M8 and had some quick tone and color enhancements.


Sort:  

Great title and photos. I especially like the first two pictures of the moss and debris covered planks. Cool wordplay as well. I enjoyed bits like this.

This tree could have grown from a small twig of a tree, maybe fifty or even a hundred plus years ago for all I know, into this gluttonous tree, blocking the path, shoving the top stair out of its way and reclaiming nature's territory.

Excellent journey and documentation. Keep on Steeming!

Thanks! In some of my "nature" shots while on the job, I often take a step back and try to come up with some stories or word play to figure out how the scene came to be. I've considered writing in haiku, but for now I'll just stick to quick wordplay and analogies lol

Haiku's are cool. I've thought about that too. Steemit is a good place for that style of writing.

Congratulations @scruffy23! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hah! I love it when “Nature Breaks Through.” Usually you see it on sidewalks or curbs like you said. It’s amazing how this TREE grew right in front of that tiny staircase and after so many years, no one bothered to move it.

See my last 2 post and vote me and I will upvote you 100% in 10 min of your 2 post.. No reply

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51