Visit Scottish Highlands #5 - Magical shore in Elgol, Isle of Skye

in #photofeed6 years ago

Hi Steemians,


Long time past since last entry of my photo-guide to Scottish Highlands. Today another place which make really strong impression on me - Harbour and beach in small village Elgol in western parts of Isle of Skye.


IMG_4689.jpg


I visited this place only one time, during photo-trip to Highlands in 2016. I had really big luck to catch great conditions.
We were traveling through Skye 2 days, Elgol was the last stop on our list - the plan was to be there in sunset time - the best time to catch the light and the mountains in the same direction. We were little late, os always ;), but we managed to run fast in the right spot and catch the whole proccess of setting sun.


IMG_4626v2.jpg


On the way there, we saw amazing sun beams from the sky just above the bay full of fishing boats, it was our first motive to shoot. In the real time it was really dynamic because the strong wind and wavy sea made the whole scene living. Fast moving clouds were creating fantastic light-show. Natural disco-party ;).


IMG_4638.jpg


IMG_4658sm.jpg


What is the most amazing thing on the shore are the rock formations, colorful stones, amazing structures made of sandstone, mix of geological creations. Big choice of motives to the foreground of the photos.


IMG_4663sm.jpg


IMG_4675sm.jpg


IMG_4651.jpg


It was quite late already and thanks to the clouds, the light was dark, so using the filter ND8 and a set of Cokin grad filters was enough to get shutter speed as long as 30 seconds.
The effect on the wavy sea water and the clouds are great thaks to this!


IMG_4767.jpg


The interesting shore line is quite long, I didn't even get to the end that evening - not enough time. I decided to focus on framing the most interesting looking rocks than running to the end of the beach...the time was running out and sun was setting down.


IMG_4719.jpg


IMG_4725.jpg


From the beach we can have a nice view on The Cuillin Hills - Black Cuillin part - the highest mountains on the island. I wish to be there one day during sunrise - to see the mountains lighten up by uprising sun... it could be epic view!


IMG_4695sm.jpg


IMG_4783m.jpg


Last light that day and a last look at Black Cuillins....


IMG_4798.jpg


After reaching back to the car, I opened the can of beer - the taste of this beer was one of the best ever! After whole fantastic day and an evening like this one? - Believe, moments like that I will be remember forever.


IMG_4801.jpg


Among many others, Elgol and its shore is one of my favourite spots in Isle of Skye, it is quite long way from most popular Storr og Quiraing, but it is worth it, good place to catch the sunset, good place to end the day!


IMG_4789.jpg


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
More information About Me
Any questions or opinions - write a comment. Great thanks for supporting my work!

Thanks for watching and have a great day!

<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

Sort:  

wohou, I think I've fallen in love with the pics:D I must remember to visit Isle of Skye next time I'm in Scotland..
Nice post, really!

Thanks a lot! Realy nice to hear You like it!

Really gorgeous place! Amazing work... Cheers

Great thanks!!

Wow awesome photography

Thank You very much!

These are just beautiful! I love the second shot of the sun rays coming through the sky, I have never been to this place although I have been to Skye many times, just another place to add to my list to go!!

Really worth time to visit! Thanks a lot!

Masterful. Resteemed. :)

Great thanks for this!! Have a good day!

Stunning photos. Because of these photos, Scotland is on my bucket list to visit. Thanks for sharings.

My pleasure to see You like it!!

Thank for a bunch of excellent photographs and explaining about this location. I hope to visit it one day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71