Shot & Thought #13 - Wider view on the landscape

in #photofeed7 years ago

Hi Steemians!

Today short post about Panoramic photography and technique I am using.
About details I am going to write separate post in the future. Panoramic photography is one of my favourite kind of shooting. Panoramas give the ability to show much more than in standard single shot, it takes us almost in the center of the scene. Thanks to wider view we can work more on different points of view, with different compositions.

To get the best effect I am using vertical position of the camera almost all the time. Vertical shots have less barrel distortion on the shorter sides of the image so the stitching process is much easier in post processing. Also, vertical position allows us to catch a foreground detials as well as big part of the sky. Sometimes, if I want to focus on the foreground and the sky in the same time - I am doing first panoramic shot of the ground, than sky panorama and place them together after proper post processing.

This kind of photography gives us the only chance to show the scene as it really is - all kinds of FishEye lenses are making such a big distortion that it is imposible to correct it later in any way. Artistic purposes of FishEye is ok, but in landscape photography, for me it is useless lens.

About the technique - If we make all the shots using tripod, and hold the horizon in the same line all the time, it is possible to get the good results using Automate process in Photoshop called PhotoMerge. I was trying this few times, and maybe in 20% cases it was quite ok. But I prefer to do everything manually - in my opinion, handmade stitching of photos gives us full control of the process and best results. It needs a lot of time, sometimes stitching big panorama from 7-8 single shots takes about an hour or more - but it is worth it.

Here on the picture Panoramic shot of freezing Tannforsen waterfall in Sweden. This one was made from 5 horizontal shots. You must watch it in full screen to see the amount of details of the photo.

Original size of this Panorama is 11106x4994 pix :). Hope You like it!

_MG_7067.jpg
Left click on the image to view in Full Screen mode!


If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
More information About Me
Any questions or opinions - write a comment. Great thanks for supporting my work!

Thanks for watching and have a great day!

Sort:  

wow....so incredible that green ice!
I love panoramas too. I never thought about the less barrel distortion. I do it vertically because it can have more resolution when I think it is worth it. But normally I go horizontal. I want an L bracket for the tripod.
Your photos are amazing and the texts too! Wait for me to become a whale.... just wait... haha

Thank You for good comment! I will wait for it :) and I wish You the best! I dont know if You ever tried to shoot horizontal shots and make vertical panorama from it - this is the most tricky stuff but gives interesting results.

Great usage of panoramic technique in your photo!
Being myself wildlife photographer I do not succeed to implement panoramic shots in my practice, so I'm a bit envious of my landscape photographers colleges :)

Thank You for compliments! I am happy You like it! I feel the same watching some amazing animals shots, I was never lucky in wildlife photography or didnt have enough patience. ;)

Looks like a frame frome an RPG😋

Wow that blue/green colour in the ice is insane. Beautiful shot mate as always!

Yes, it was amazing, thank You! This color is similar we can find in glacier ice. Thanx!!

Awesome picture!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49