Their Skin is Mine

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

CCB475A1-B580-449A-A4EE-50E5D88772E5.jpeg

There’s an old Filter song which often obsesses my being when I create artistic portraits. It viscerally captures the experience so completely. I’m not sure if I can say it any better. But I’m going to at least try to explain my inner process...

78231132-3E9E-49CF-8129-EC4FEC63139B.jpeg

I’ve often heard that good portraits are all about capturing the essence of the subject. And I agree that this is one essential element. But for me, a truly transcendent portrait emerges only when I inhabit my subject in a unique way...we merge for just a nanosecond and neither of us remembers where one of us ends and the other begins.

44C09E51-092D-4E0C-98F1-CC7FA5A641B1.jpeg

In that moment, we create together. In that moment, our souls dance. And what is revealed goes far beyond documentation. Far beyond a physical record.

6E00BD14-4437-4540-91D6-726368169652.jpeg

This is the space in between, folding into itself.

4D82E283-85B0-446F-9FFB-538D2392467E.jpeg

A vision beyond the physical. Captured and reimagined.

1FD48BDF-DFA5-4F30-8C57-7B175D831738.png

This, for me, is a pure connection. And without it, I do not believe a portrait can ever truly realize its full, unbridled glory.

BC897C07-95EF-43C8-99ED-87A8B254E64D.jpeg

Sort:  

It's portraits like these that make me want to book a photo shoot immediately 😂
I love looking at photos that stir you to say "I wanna be friends with them!!!" Lol you definitely captured the energy they were sending! Love them all!!

Thank you. When you say you wanna book...do you mean as the perp or the victim? 😄

Victim of course!!!! Lolol I posted a pretty ridiculous post showing my AMAAAAAZING (sarcasm intended) shot of the super blue blood moon.... Lolol I got so many calls from people begging me to allow them the license to use that picture!!!!
😂😂😂😂

I am no photographer. Lol

But I can appreciate the exquisite work of one! Hahahaha

You are cracking me up 😄

Not sure where you are, but if you’re ever in Los Angeles, I’ll gladly shoot you.

And I’ll take you’re picture, too 🤪🙌🏻🤗

The only shot I like comes in a glass 🥃
Hehehehe

But next time I'm in LA... (dont go often but just passed through a few weeks ago) we have a date 😊

Cool portraits, Lisa! If there's one thing I am terrible at, it is directing a portrait shoot. Do you have any tips? :-)

Thanks, Dan. Do you direct many for work?

I’m trying to think how to distill and communicate tips. I used to model. I grew up doing it for my dad and then I did it professionally for a minute in my teens. I think I actually turn that on from the other side of the camera and engage with my subjects. It’s a sort of camaraderie/comfort zone I like to create so that they forget I’m taking photos and we are just playing.

I do give directions when I need to. But I’m pretty sure I literally make the face or pose or gesture I’m looking for and then let them mimick me and make it their own.

Ultimately though, I’m trying to catch them, not me. So really look - as deeply as possible - at my subject. And I play on who they are.

But I’m usually taking portraits that aren’t commercial at all and don’t need a specific look.

I like these....very unconventional and they hold way more life and emotion than a posed photo. Much like your butterfly photo merged with a person - these demonstrate metamorphosis again. I see a trend or style ....I really like it.

Thank you! Yes, these are definitely my style. I often post more traditional photography here. But these are much more indicative of my artistic work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42