You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Their Skin is Mine

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

Thanks, Dan. Do you direct many for work?

I’m trying to think how to distill and communicate tips. I used to model. I grew up doing it for my dad and then I did it professionally for a minute in my teens. I think I actually turn that on from the other side of the camera and engage with my subjects. It’s a sort of camaraderie/comfort zone I like to create so that they forget I’m taking photos and we are just playing.

I do give directions when I need to. But I’m pretty sure I literally make the face or pose or gesture I’m looking for and then let them mimick me and make it their own.

Ultimately though, I’m trying to catch them, not me. So really look - as deeply as possible - at my subject. And I play on who they are.

But I’m usually taking portraits that aren’t commercial at all and don’t need a specific look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42