Oh No She Di’n’t!

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

I have a thing for heads. Doll heads, mannequin heads, sculpted heads. They can be attached to bodies but that’s just incidental for the most part. As long as they’re weird, I find them wonderful. The weirder and older and more dilapidated, the better. I can’t really explain this obsession. And full disclosure: they do not creep me out in the slightest.

Yesterday I posted some of my absolute favorite junk store heads. Favorite in the sense that they’re wonderfully kitschy and vintage. While I was curating my archives for the photos, I came across some other heads that I have to admit are equally fascinating to me...but these are actually disturbing. Yet I must confess: I love them, too.

D5F3AD76-F2FC-4FB9-A277-057969ADF264.jpeg


I am not politically correct. I won’t pretend we are all the same and that life is some utopian paradise where we can all frolic giddily through fields of classless, genderless, color blind flowers and pretend that history never happened...and isn’t destined to repeat. I like calling it like I see it. But in order to do so, I first must to be able to see it. So I truly appreciate that these horribly wrong pieces of twisted Americana still exist.

626A9DA5-780C-4F8A-BB0B-FE5353065806.jpeg


They need to be seen. Appreciated. They need to perform their duty of shock and awe and even absurdity and humor. They’re glorious in their blatant honesty and poor taste.

I don’t like dirty little secrets. I want to know what I’m up against. We can’t address what we are not fully aware of. We cannot change what we do not acknowledge and confront. And that’s where these sublime works of ugly authenticity come in.

B21B583F-A673-444E-9CD5-F8FEAD1F9C6D.jpeg


But enough of my soap boxing. Enjoy these seriously bigoted art offerings. May they make you Smile. Laugh. Gasp a little. And think. A lot.

1DB631CF-C272-4519-9ED3-CCA7301DCD76.jpeg

Sort:  

Greetings @outrayjust! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting our campaign in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. That means good quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

It all depends how we look at them...through what lens. What I see I don't think of history. But I'm Canadian and we don't think up here. Seriously. We are too busy apologizing for everything that we don't see the forest for the trees.

I see color. I see cultural differences. I see different religious beliefs. I see them and I name them but that doesn't make me a bigot or "phobic" of any kind. I can agree or disagree - I'm entitled to my opinion just like the next person. That's doesn't make me a label or a labeller.

My soap box is put away now as well.

I love your authenticity - I've told you that before and I just like to hear my own voice so I'm repeating it here.

Okay, now those dolls or statues. I don't find them offensive or strange or weird at all. I like them. I'm not too sure about the open mouth guy but I do like the top ones and I would have them propped up on my mantle.

I actually love them all for various reasons. And I agree about the top guys. But the others are historically and indisputably racist and/or sexist - at least in intent.

To me that doesn’t make them less relevant, but more so. This shit happened. And sadly, it still is. Until fairly recently, it was way underground.

As art, they are terribly interesting and beautiful to me. They are objects. They can transcend what they may have originally represented. And more importantly, they can help us call a spade a spade.

Thank you, Deb. Now say you’re sorry and give me a jelly doughnut. 🤣 I so need to find some Canadian statues to study. 😉😘

Donuts and Tim Horton coffees coming up!!! Oh, sorry, jelly doughnut!

Yes, we have a lurid dark past too.

Hahahahaha! I hope this doesn’t end our sisterhood but...

I hate donuts 🤗

noooooooooooo! Who hates donuts??? Oh you LA types....hahaha.....I love donuts. I have to be in the mood for them and I usually will crave really good ones from a bakery - the kind that are heavy and give me heartburn after. Then I say sorry to my body.

Fun fact: There are more donut shops per capita in L.A. than anywhere else in the U.S.

I do enjoy the occasional high quality cherry cheese danish or cinnamon pecan roll. Thought I haven’t seen the first one in decades and the latter I’ve not had in at least six years.

Tim Hortons is the same here - everywhere. It seems they are on every corner like churches used to be.

Cherry cheese danish....I don't think I've had one of those - I know.....don't be too shocked - I do live a very secluded life. :) Sister Deborah, the flying nun.

I Like This Post. That's Very Amazing!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 06:44:01
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 174.55/200.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The very first picture is interesting. As for the rest, where did you even find them?

The first one was at a thrift store. And I almost bought it. The rest were at the same shop with the mannequin heads. Total. Shock. Though they do have a certain Roger Ballen vibe.

The first one looks like Nepalese/Buddhist carving. The eyes and the red triangle between the eyebrows make me think that.
Yes, they are rather Roger Ballen. He lives in my town and I am a fan of his work.

I met him last year at the L.A. Festival of Photography. We were exhibiting right next to each other. He made me feel like a toddler with a crayon.

Probably also a case of South Africa having so much that is photo-worthy, not always in a good way. He had the advantage of traveling widely for his work

He also has developed such a distinguishable style. And an incredible eye. I could go on and on. The glass he uses, the drawings, the people. He’s fearless. And brutal. And raw.

He's also been at it for years and years. Keep going yourself

Love this

he made me feel like a toddler with a crayon

I snorted....serious snorts. lol and picture you talking high pitch like a little girl as well.

Damn. You nailed it, Deb. I can be a bit of a baby about my insecurities and perfectionism. Waaaaaaaah 😫

I know...I always figure things out....and even though you are complicated, I just get you sometimes. Maybe you are like my mirror? Probably. Call the wambulance. 😭

😂😂😂

I figured the first was some sort of Buddhist work. But I wasn’t sure if it was authentic or “interpretive”. But I wanted a reason to post it either way. 😄

Yes! I know someone who goes to Nepal and buys and resells a lot of Nepalese woodcarving. I'll ask for her opinion

Oh cool. Thanks!

I saw the person I was going to ask about the carvings today and she said that she didn't recognise the style so those will have to remain a mystery

Thanks for checking. I rather like a good mystery. Now I wish more than ever that I’d purchased them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71