Sunset on the Oregon Coast. A rugged, beautiful place (album)

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

The Oregon Coast... one of my favorite places in the world.

It's rocky, unforgiving and beautiful. The water is cold, the surf is strong and the rocks can be dangerous. It's a land of cliffs, wildlife and pretty sunsets.

I recently went down here with a friend and fellow steemian, @Natebillings. We were down for a few days and spent the first one at Ecola State Park. It is located in Northern Oregon, near Cannon Beach (where they filmed parts of the Goonies)

385.jpg

This was the first view I came upon, and not a bad one either. I'm a big fan of yellow and blue, it's my favorite color combo. So.. I was thankful for this yellowish grass.

371.jpg

While exploring, I came across another interesting spot. Also... there just so happened to be a couple who ventured out on this formation. It provided a nice sense of scale which is needed in these places. They are a lot bigger than they look!

359.jpg

It was a bit overcast on the horizon. We weren't sure we were going to get a sunset. Thankfully though, that wasn't the case. The sun slipped beneath the cloud line and started covering everything in a golden light. I rushed up to the postcard view that I had seen many times. Had to finally take that shot for myself.

364.jpg

I noticed some really interesting rock formations on my way back to the main section of the park. Really jagged.. they reminded me of a shark fin or something. Shortly after this, the sun slipped beneath the horizon and we relaxed for a bit. All in all an awesome evening.

I'm headed back down to the coast in about an hour, actually. I'll be down there for a few days. I've been a few times over the last couple of months and it's been amazing. Super nice to escape from the grey of the Washington winter we have up here.

The weather down there is going to be sunny and almost 70 degrees, all week... can't wait.

-Nathaniel

Sort:  

Wow love that third shot. Such a nice coast line. I do miss the ocean.

Thanks robert! It is seriously so beautiful down there. Can't wait to get back there. Have you been down this way?

Not really . Quick work trip down there and checked out around Mt Hood.

Man, come back sometime if you can. It's worth the trip

For sure. Would love to come back. I put a photo of Mt Hood across from Lost Lake recently.

Beautiful beautiful Be-u-ti-ful.
I appreciate photos of water and sea. I'm loving this one.

Thank you! I appreciate being near the ocean. It's so calming.

Fabulous shots! I was at Ecola two years ago. I'll have to dig up those photos again.

You guys should hit me up next time you make a trip! Glad you enjoyed the visit!

More beautiful shots! I just launched a landscape photo contest, btw. :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 03:59:19
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 224.68/400.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

All great shots, but the last one is amazing ;)

Cool set. Resteemed!

Oh my! This looks absolutely unbelievable! :-)

The view really is breathtaking i feel like i want to go there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13