Summer Mountain Road Trip (Adventure Photography)

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

DSC_3878.jpg

This time Timothy Lake was our destination. Brenna went to her cousins house and strapped their canoe on to her Jeep. Picked up her friend and we all went up the mountain.

Something I miss about summer is driving through the hills with the windows down and feeling the wind in my hair, and even more, looking over to the passenger seat and seeing the wind whip through Brenna's beautiful blonde locks, dancing in the wind.
The fuzzy radio waves carrying over an old classic song on the radio as the trees and hills fall behind us on our crusade. The air was just so warm at that time. My loose summer shirt flapped in the wind like a flag.
The drive to the lake slowly climbs up the mountain.
Mount Hood comes into view, it's snowy white peaks shining at us like a beacon letting us know we are on our way.

The mountain is the mother of this land, the lake is the child of the mountain, it gets fed by the white snow melting from the mountain into the land, filling it's depths with life.

DSC_3863.jpg

Finally seeing the exit sign "Timothy Lake", we hit the back roads going down in elevation.
We could start to smell the lake getting close.
Navigating by map, this being a place we had never been, we took a right instead of going straight and quickly got lost.
We found ourselves at a camp ground with few people in it. We drove in circles until Brenna, getting tired of this, elected me to be the one to get out and ask someone how to get to the lake.
We drove around one more time for me to pick the person I would ask, I chose the least threatening looking stranger and got out to ask. He told me how to get to the lake we were back on track.

The sun was starting to set now, getting late.

We found the boat dock and launched the canoe. Brenna and I set sail.
Moments like this bring back my childhood imagination.
These are the moments I can't forget.

DSC_3894.jpg

I went back to shore and found a spot to lay and watch her sail around with the fading blue light from the sun setting illuminate the scene. Just breathing and watching.
At this moment, to me time did not exist.

DSC_3893.jpg

I decided I wanted to go for a swim, I took off my shirt and waded in the water. The mud between my toes, the rocks underfoot. The water even at that time was warm, it felt so comforting to feel water close in around me and take me under. I dived in.

DSC_3944.jpg

  • Christopher Skipper

Follow for more adventures: https://steemit.com/@mthoodjournal

See my 500PX here: https://500px.com/christopher_skipper

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 22:45:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 16.20/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Excellent story with a terrific pair of photos to match!

Cheers! Steem ON!

Thanks for sharing!

Thank, always a appreciate good feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53406.14
ETH 2398.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15