Shooting long exposures in the day near Glacier National Park - Montana

in #photofeed7 years ago

Before heading to a once in a lifetime trip to Yellowstone National Park and Glacier National Park, I decided to buy a variable neutral density filter. I'm not sure which one is currently deemed the best right now - but at the time it was Singh Ray.

I don't use this filter very much nowadays as I have the Lee Big Stopper 10 stop nd filter. If you're wondering what the heck I'm talking about - essentially neutral density filters are like sun glasses for your camera. It let's you shoot long exposures in the day so you can blur water (hope that makes sense somewhat).

2_0_sec_at_f_8_0_August_15_2011

LocationMontana
Year2011
CameraNikon D700
Lens24-70mm f2.8
Shutter Speed2s
Aperturef8
ISO100

Shooting long exposures is a process and I'm sure I was driving my mom, aunt and wife crazy. In my mom's bordome she snapped this candid image of me. I don't have many pictures of myself and this one is kind of cool.

20110815_P1020870_1_400_sec_at_f_4_6

Plus if you take a look at the water, you'll see what it looks like when not using an nd filter.

footer mikey colon 1000

👉🏻 All images are lovingly (sometimes painstakingly) taken by me.

👉🏻 Follow for more awesome images like this, sent to your feed daily. HUGS

Sort:  

Loving the gradient in the cascading waters. Well done Mikey!

Oh cool, I wondered how that effect was done, I;ve seen pics in Nat Geo with that similar effect before lol The neighbor at my family's old cottage in Vermont used to travel out to Montana for a couple of months every year. He was a photographer too, and he mainly took pics of Western style images, ranchers and powwows, cowboys and Indians type thing. Also some awesome landscapes. His name is Pete Cocoras, I don;t have any of his work myself but my grandparents have a few of his prints framed and signed :)

That's awesome - thanks for sharing your thoughts! Vermont and Montana have a lot of epic spots for landscape photography.

Gotta love 10-stop filters for giving rivers and creeks that dreamy look!

Man this is amazing. I recently started researching cameras to buy for a newbie like me. Also I am still lost on some of the technicals like aperture, ISO for example.

Do you always use the D700 or do you switch is up depending on your environment?

The image I shared above was taken in 2011. I used to use Nikon and now I use Canon.

Mostly because I kept renting a particular Canon camera to shoot video then it got to the point where I might as well have bought it.

At the end of the day most modern day cameras are "good". Where things get expensive is getting cameras and lenses that are capable of getting cleaner images in low light situations (which is where a lot of professionals end up shooting). For example indoor events, weddings, etc).

Photography is all about the quality of light and most times there isn't enough light. So what I'm getting at is if there is enough light - you can get decent pictures.

In regards to aperture, ISO, and shutter speed - those are the 3 things you have to consider to get the correct exposure. That's a lengthy topic but you can start here with @skiesandsports guide:

https://steemit.com/photography/@skiesandsports/photography-101-1-the-basics-aperture-and-camera-settings##

If you have any particular questions hit me up. Perhaps we can Skype - I'd be glad to help. :D

Ok cooll man. Thanks for the info. If I have questions I'll head your way with them.

Yes sir.

I'll be filming some tutorials this week or at least my thought process. Stay tuned...

Nice! I live just outside Glacier, and do a lot of video work in the area. I began using variable NDs when I picked up a 5D MkIII for video, but soon discovered all the cool capabilities for daylight long exposure photography. It's a great place to live if you spend a lot of time with a camera in hand...

That - is - for - sure!

I liked it a lot better than Yellowstone for some reason. I always wanted to go back to go camping. As I'm typing this I should plan a trip - with or without friends because sometimes if you want to do something you might as well do it yourself.

Since Glacier NP is a protected space, I found an outfitter than offer sherpas to carry your stuff to the next camp site.

I just saw you just joined Steemit and welcome aboard! You have my follow. :D

PS
What kind of video do you shoot?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40