Dealing with failure in Landscape Photography

in #photofeed6 years ago

Today I share a video with you, in which I talk about how to deal with failure in landscape photography and about what's really important when we're out taking photos.

Because let's face it, the photos I usually show here on Steemit are not what I come home with after every photo shoot. In fact they are an exception.

Same goes for all those awesome photos you see on the different photo platforms. Those are the tip of the iceberg. The best photos taken by thousands of photographers. But you can be sure that every one of those photographers has a much larger amount of photos sitting on his hard drive that he will never show.

I fail quite often when I'm out taking photos. It's when I'm just not able to capture the essence of a scene

Winter


But those are just failures in terms of not taking a great photo. In terms of being out in nature and having a great time it's nearly always a success. And this is what I always try to remind myself of: Great photos are just a bonus, what really counts is to get out and enjoy the time.



Michael Breitung Photography

Sort:  

I have thousands that I hate. For the 1 that I like.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 07:55:53
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 337.44/400.00
Total Photos: 28
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

i have just been watching your youtube video earlier, thanks for sharing :)

Nice. Thanks for putting this message out there. After 20 years of photography I am still rarely happy with what I take. It’s a constantly moving target .

Hello and congratulations on winning a daily round of my 7 World´s Continents Photo Challenge. What an amazing image. Kindly see to attend your winner announcement post to answer some of the congratulaiton comments for your increased engagement. Thank you. Tomas

7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge – European Thursday week #21 – winner announcement!

Great post and nice video. I totally agree with you when you say "Great photos are just a bonus, what really counts is to get out and enjoy the time."

Absolutely true, and I'm sure it's the same for all photographers. What I share is a tiny percentage of the total photos on the memory card. I'm getting much better at not taking so many dumb frames, but still...

Many are failures, many are okay but just aren't good enough to pass the imaginary moving line of acceptability. A smallish percent get shared and a tiny, tiny percent are photos that I actually really like. A handful of those are photos that I still like a year later, and one or two stand the test of time. But it's all worth it for those one or two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70929.60
ETH 3846.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51