Sort:  

I was introduced to him when I was studying German as an undergraduate. We were translating Mutter Courage und ihre Kinder. Later, when I began to look closely at literature of the grotesque, I of course recognized similar elements. Use of the grotesque in Brecht, and other forms of art, including visual art, jolts the viewers (readers), shakes them out of accustomed emotional and intellectual framework. Entfremdung--alienation--it's viewed as a modern phenomenon, but it's not. Look at the Bruegels, look at ETA Hoffman, look at Grimm.
You see what I mean about Steemit being a place where relatively obscure subjects can be discussed. Nowhere else would I even bring this stuff up. Look forward to your feedback, if you are inclined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42