You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📷 / Window lights collection /

in #photofeed6 years ago

I love your parents' bedroom, but I never would have seen the picture if I hadn't found you by searching for "Bertolt Brecht". Your piece came up. My search was a test--I'm a fan of Brecht, and of epic theater. I see many aspects of epic theater used today, and I think a lot of people aren't aware that these are Brechtian. It seems there's a place for every subject on Steemit. That's amazing, and new for me. Some posts, on obscure subjects, may not get a lot of upvotes, but they will get a reading. Anyway, wanted to touch base after reading your Brecht piece. Well done. Thorough and clear. The photos here are lovely too--effective, especially your grandma and your parents' bedroom.

Sort:  

@agmoore
I would love to discuss Brecht some time! I became more interested in him while I was studying at the Film Academy.
And thank you so much!

I was introduced to him when I was studying German as an undergraduate. We were translating Mutter Courage und ihre Kinder. Later, when I began to look closely at literature of the grotesque, I of course recognized similar elements. Use of the grotesque in Brecht, and other forms of art, including visual art, jolts the viewers (readers), shakes them out of accustomed emotional and intellectual framework. Entfremdung--alienation--it's viewed as a modern phenomenon, but it's not. Look at the Bruegels, look at ETA Hoffman, look at Grimm.
You see what I mean about Steemit being a place where relatively obscure subjects can be discussed. Nowhere else would I even bring this stuff up. Look forward to your feedback, if you are inclined.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47