What's That Noise Outside My Tent?

in #photofeed6 years ago

20150713_160759.jpg

Went camping last year in Wyoming and after a long night, I was still in my tent mid-morning and heard a noise a few feet behind me. I opened up a tent flap to see where the noise was coming from and saw this beautiful elk just a few feet away. I wanted to get a pic but didn't think there was any way I could get a shot considering I would have to grab my camera, unzip my tent, and walk that direction without spooking the animal. I thought for sure the elk would sprint off as soon as I made a noise, but I had to give it a try.

As with any time you try and be quiet, I could not have be louder. I think I tripped over everything on my way out and unzipping my tent was intensely loud. As I stood up and out of my tent, and looked back to where the elk should be, there it was still grazing. I was able to snap about 30 shots and the elk never ran off, wandered off, or even seemed bothered. I eventually just sat down and watched.

This is an entry for the tepchallenge weekly challenge held by @theexplorer - This weeks challenge was for round 8 - Theme - Moments of Nature.

All Photography is Original :)
Enjoying my content? Please help support my efforts by resteeming.
Thanks So Much - Liquidtravel

Sort:  

Hello @theexplorer, this is my first entry into one of your contests, can you let me know if I correctly entered? thank you.

Yes, thank you for the entry. What a fantastic moment of nature you've captured, this will certainly be hard to beat!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=liquidtravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=what-s-that-noise-outside-my-tent


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a great shot you took of this beautiful elk. Good story to go with it. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55