Whisky Bay in Wilsons Prom and Not Sleeping While Travelling

in #photofeed6 years ago

Who else finds sleep difficult while travelling? I move around quite a bit, you'd think I'd be use to different beds, sounds and environments. But, no. I don't feel anxious about sleeping in different places, but it has got to a point where when I lay down I just accept the fact that I'm going to have a bad nights sleep. I can relax fine and I don't get frustrated at the lack of sleep. It's just a part of my life now.

Anyone got any good tips for getting to sleep? Preferably ones that don't involve copious amounts of alcohol or drugs.

KieranStone142.jpg
One of the many beautiful locations at Wilsons Promontory National Park. Whisky Bay at sunset.


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

Travel and sleep dont seem to go hand in hand, do they? I sleep like a log when I get home though...

Beautiful mate! That light!

Thanks a bunch!

Amazing photo - Very powerful! No wonder you can't sleep with images like these always in your head :)

I do have some suggestions for sleep. Tried and true.

Take a melatonin before bed - perfectly safe (gave to my children when they couldn't sleep)
Most of us are low in magnesium, this can be very, very effective, too! For sleep - magnesium oil spray or take an epson salts bath

Valerian tea is also effective but not tolerated by all people (could make you a little nauseated) - but it is very strong and powerful. Also note, any 'herb' should be checked on if you are taking medications.

You can also do other types of magnesium to try and build up levels (there are many types of magnesium but some are not so beneficial so I will post an easy chart).
27867085_10155577362347261_2675174925066952629_n.jpg

Oh and looking at a computer screen before bed will also disrupt sleep.

I think the no screen before bed is something I should try. Bringing extra things with me when I travel is not always possible though


mii likes your shot!
from foreground to the dramatic clouds
a creative composition it is
^o^
i find difficulty sleeping too [not traveling tho]
a cup of calming tea or hot milk
or reading a good ebook —in night mode— till my eyes are tired
lulls me to slumber lol

I have tried warm milk with honey and cinnamon. Still doesn't help! I might try a book instead of Steemit before bed...

just keep it in low light and night mode for eBooks. The usual light from phone screen will keep you awake...

Whisky Bay is definitely one of my favorite places in Oz, I like the squeaky beach nearby too. :) But I haven’t traveled to the whole country yet, so vast...
About sleep, have you tried counting 🐑 ? ;) I don’t have much issue with that though, when I changed beds almost every week during constant traveling. I believe the best way is to physically exhaust yourself like a whole day’s hike. But I had problem sleeping in the wagon on my last New Year holiday road trip, when it’s just too hot in some arid 🌵 area in this country.
Wow, I didn’t realize I almost write an essay...

I do have a lot of energy during the day and find it hard to exhaust myself. I have tried counting sheep, I get bored after 1000 ;) I cannot sleep in the heat no matter what!

A couple of beers might help do the trick especially if you have had a big day walking around, generally works for me when i am travelling.

I might feel more sleepy but I'll still be awake most of the night and then feel worse off in the morning. The less alcohol the better!

Beauty! :D

No good tips for getting to sleep: sometimes it's just impossible. I do think it's important to stay away from the screen, though. Books are helpful. The right type of book is a good way to disengage the brain. It's not that reading is soporific - it takes a while to tire that way, but it's more natural and reliable than staying up on the computer or phone. Audiobooks are even better because you can close your eyes and listen. If you still can't sleep, worse case scenario there is that you listened to a book.

But but but...Netflix. it's just so easy to get mindless entertainment.

I know. So easy to watch, so impossible to turn off and to sleep. just one more episode, I promise!

Amazing photo ! I love sharp photos like this :)

Thanks, mate!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 23:05:20
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 970.33/1600.00
Total Photos: 52
Total comments: 90
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Earplugs? I can't sleep without them.

Ear plugs don't silence the voices in my head 🤯

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48