Watching the world wake up at Nugget Point

in #photofeed6 years ago

There are few places in the world where I've had as strong a sensation of exactly where I was standing on the planet as I did at Nugget Point. Located in the South East of the South Island of New New Zealand, it is a great place to view the sunrise. While watching the distant horizon start to glow with the coming sun, I could feel my position on the Earth. I stared out over the water and knew my gaze would travel thousands of kilometres over the vast Pacific Ocean before reaching Chile. As my mind bounced back to where I was it made me become aware that there is not just one sunrise a day. There is a constant sunrise travelling over the world as it turns in space. This one had come from nearly the other side of the world, probably with no one else to shine on, before reaching my eyes and camera at Nugget Point.

KieranStone065.jpg


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

Dude this is insane! The colours throughout this photo blow my mind haha... I really like the glow on those greens too, was that just from high dynamic range in the shadows or did you do multiple exposures?

Thanks for sharing by the way!

It's an older photo but I'm pretty sure I took a couple of exposures. One for the foreground and one for the sky.

Thanks!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 22:43:46
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 981.58/1600.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 90
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Stunning!

I'd love to know what camera/gear you used to make this shot

Canon 5D Mark iii.
Long exposure
Mid range aperture
Low ISO
Pretty much standard for most of my shots 😉

@kieranstone I love when your pictures come up in my feed. They are gorgeous. It was fun to read about your experience taking it too.

Thank you very much 😃
I dazzle people with the bright colours 😅

Well crafted image with great feeling for colors. A truly pleasent watch!

Thanks heaps! Have a great day 😃

There might have been other people up at the equivalent time along its path thinking the same thing, whether or not they had a camera and a spectacular location to capture it is another thing though ;D

This should be on a wall somewhere I think. Preferably the type of wall lots of people pass by.

goatsig

It is up on the wall of a hospital in Melbourne. Plenty of people get to see it 😉

What can i say? Its perfect beauty!!!

Thank you very much 😃

Always welcome !

So beautiful! Love your work. Do you typically use a polarizing filter?

I mainly use a polariser for waterfall and forest scenes. And to cut out glare on water 🙂

Gotcha, thanks for the input. I've been wanting to get one, but also wanting to wait until I upgrade my wide angle.

My retinas really enjoy this! 😍

A feast for your rods and cones ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66267.02
ETH 3282.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70