No trees. All the nothing in Australia

in #photofeed6 years ago

Australia is a really big country. And it is full of nothing. Take a drive from Adelaide in South Australia to the next capital city to the west, Perth, and you'll have to cross the Nullarbor. A (mostly) treeless, flat plane with a road that is over 1500km long with a 147km dead straight section. There are roadhouses about every 200-300km and a few emergency airstrips as part of the highway. You can even play the worlds longest golf course (18 holes spread out over 1300km of the Eyre Highway).

I just can't describe how much nothing there is along this drive. It is flat, hot, featureless and takes sooo long to drive. I've done it twice now, there and back, and even though I found it interesting to do, I never want to do it again. The storm in the picture was probably the most interesting thing I saw in the 30 something hours I spent driving.

KieranStone126.jpg

_STO2479.jpg


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

ik driving through it must not be fun....but to me where everything is green and hilly this looks so attractive lol

I enjoyed doing it and seeing the sights. But twice is enough! 😅

Daaamn. Those clouds in the first image look fierce!

There was quite a storm that hit the day before and knocked out all the electricity at the main town before starting this drive. Not a great way to start a long drive when you can't charge batteries!

And I thought the Canadian prairies were long and featureless...

I want to play that golf course now! What a hilarious idea! I guess it gives you something to do as your stretch your legs every few hours...

I didn't play...I was too keen to get to Esperance in WA. And then get back home 😅

That’s really interesting but the storm looks amazing! I like the yellow of the fields too.

It's amazing seeing storms in a desert 😊

This picture of storm is just perfect ;o

anyways are there really kangaroos jumping across the road?

There sure are! Around sunset and night it's very dangerous driving at high speed. During the day the road is littered with the road kill from the night before

Daamn, seems dangerous but at the same time seeing a wild kangaroo mus be pretty cool experience! :)

They are everywhere here! Not so much in the inner city but golf courses and the outer suburbs

Cool! I would definitely travel there... actually I saw here on steemit a lot of beautiful places that I would travel to haha :D

What is the animal between the kangaroo and the camel in the second picture? Can you really see this animals there?

It's a wombat. They are the size of a small but dense dog. Hitting one with a car is like hitting a cinderblock

You made it sound really bad, but somehow I whish I could do it... :)

I'd recommend for people to do it if they get a chance. But I wouldn't want to have to do it often.

Beautiful shots, love the second one, the symmetry is good!

Thank you! I do like symmetry :)

Your photographs tell stories:) They are amazing !

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43