Lush Perfection - Russell Falls in Tasmania

in #photofeed7 years ago (edited)

A multi-tiered and magnificent waterfall, Russell Falls in Mount Field National Park is a sight to behold. When in full flow the power of the water sends a cool wet refreshing wind towards hikers. This spray makes photographing it cleanly difficult. A side on view adds some interesting foreground and framing.

russell-falls.jpg

Kieran's Log. Stardate 95752.56
After many talks with the alien race "iiNet", we are no closer to a treaty that would see us provided with all the internet we require. It seems matters are out of our hands and we must continue to wait. Meanwhile, many Steemit posts are going by un-upvoted by me. I will have to rectify that as soon as the treaty is finalised.

Camera Settings


Canon 5D MKIII
16mm
F8
6sec
ISO50


Intro Post
Website kieranstone.com
Instagram @kieranstoneau
Facebook Kieran Stone


Sort:  

Love the framing! :D

Thanks, mate!

wow! nice post. upvoted. upvote my post

very nice ! i like the composition on this photo :)

Thank you very much 😃

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.80 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.16
Server time: 11:27:39
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 710.94/800.00
Total Photos: 33
Total comments: 85
Total contest wins: 9
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice shot! I remember @intrepidphotos had one super similar. I almost thought it was his for a second. I guess great eyes shoot alike, eh?

Wow looking at this again in more detail just freaks me out. Even the broken branches on the fern are the same? And the weird wobbling of that branch on the left from the downdraft off the falls. Almost the same water flow with some very subtle differences in the water coming over the falls. I took the shot below on the 26th of Aug 2016. When was your shot taken? Makes me think you must have been there at a similar time for that fern on the right to both have that damaged frond looking like that.

We've definitely had a similar if not the same tripod footprint. My shot is slightly more angled down...I think that's about it 😅 everything else is the same

Yes its that broken fern frond in the middle of frame from the tree fern in to the right that covers the trunk of the tree fern in the middle that freaks me out. And looking above at the horse shoe shot there is also a dying frond to the right. So it must have been reasonably close visits.

Dang. You guys really are twins. Like.. This is eerily the exact spot. The only difference is the crop and editing, but seriously. I'm doing one of those "spot the difference" activities and can't find any other than those!

You made me go to his blog and check, it was 2 months ago! Good memory!
This is a popular composition. I took it a couple of years ago. And I'm unoriginal 😅

Na, I'm sure he and all the other photographers totally copied your shot. How rude of him! haha

Oh totally. In fact I discovered this waterfall and named it after my pet snake that I found in a pile of dry leaves.

Yes than then that lady just cut and paste mine with the text into her blog!

Kieran and his pet snake were stalking me at the time. You should see his shot of horseshoe falls about 2km from this one. Its like we walked along the same track somehow ;-)

That Horseshoe falls one is eerie because there is a lot of options to shoot there. Hang on...

Yes thats true; there are a lot of options there and you have to grub around in the water to get that shot. The snake must have been talking to me also as I walked around.

Beautiful nature, moss and ferns make the atmosphere feel like a picture from prehistoric era.

The dinosaurs have been replaced by Wallabies and Wombats :D

Beautiful!! Your Australia shots are making me miss my time there tremendously. I can't wait to go back

We do have some amazing scenery here 😃

Great shot with exemplary composition.

This composition is the sign of a good photographer ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53